UW Huskies Insider

Trufant goes 22nd overall to Atlanta

Post by Todd Dybas / The News Tribune on April 25, 2013 at 7:49 pm with No Comments »
April 26, 2013 12:16 am

Washington cornerback Desmond Trufant was selected 22nd overall by the Atlanta Falcons in Thursday’s NFL draft.

Trufant was the first defensive player from Washington selected in the first round since 1992 (Steve Emtman, Dana Hall) after turning in an All-Pac-12 senior season for the revamped Washington defense.

Atlanta head coach Mike Smith said he expected Trufant to come in and compete for a starting spot. He also said one of the crucial things for the Falcons when evaluating Trufant was his familiarity with the NFL thanks to his brothers Marcus and Isaiah already being in the league.

“It’s who we had focused on all throughout the offseason,” Atlanta general manager Thomas Dimitroff said. “We were very fortunate because it was a very eventful middle of the first round. It was very, very active with a lot of trade discussions.”

The Falcons were desperate for a cornerback and traded up eight spots to get Trufant. Three of their top five corners from last season are gone. Brent Grimes (Miami) and Christopher Owens (Cleveland) left during free agency. Dunta Robinson was released and signed with Kansas City.

Trufant was one of five Pac-12 players taken in the first round Thursday. Oregon defensive end Dion Jordan went third to Miami, Utah’s Star Lotulelei went 14th to Carolina, Oregon tackle Kyle Long went 20th to Chicago and UCLA defensive end Datone Jones went 26th to Green Bay.



2013 – Desmond Trufant, DB, 22 overall

2011 – Jake Locker, QB, 8 overall

2004 – Reggie Williams, WR, 9 overall

2002 – Jeramy Stevens, TE, 28 overall

1995 – Napoleon Kaufman, RB, 18 overall; Mark Bruener, TE, 27 overall

1993 – Lincoln Kennedy, OT, 9 overall

1992 – Steve Emtman, DT, 1 overall; Dana Hall, DB, 18 overall

1990 – Bern Brostek, C, 23 overall

1987 – Reggie Rogers, DT, 7 overall

1985 – Ron Holmes, DE, 8 overall

1981 – Curt Mash, OT, 23 overall

1980 – Doug Martin, DT, 9 overall

1978 – Blair Bush, C, 16 overall

1967 – Dave Williams, FL, 16 overall

1952 – Hugh McElhenny, RB, 9 overall

1941 – Rudy Mucha, C, 4 overall; Dean McAdams, B, 8 overall

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0