UW Huskies Insider

Gaddy among Cousy Award nominees

Post by Don Ruiz / The News Tribune on Dec. 20, 2012 at 4:22 pm with No Comments »
December 20, 2012 4:47 pm

Abdul Gaddy was included among the nominees for the 2013 Bob Cousey Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award.

Gaddy is a senior from Tacoma who attended Bellarmine Prep.

Eighty-five players were named Thursday among the initial nominees. The list will be whittled to 20 around Jan. 1, to 10 around Feb. 1 and to a final five around March 1.

Here’s a news release from the school:

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the watch list of candidates for the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award and Washington senior Abdul Gaddy is among the nominees.

Gaddy (Tacoma, Wash./Bellarmine Prep)is third on the team averaging 13.4 points per game and leads the team with 3.7 assists per game. The two-time team captain is Pac-12’s active career leader and ranks 7th all-time in UW history with 349 career assists. He has dished out four assists or more in each of the last five games.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. Over 80 candidates have been nominated for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award.

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 around January 1st, final 10 near February 1st, and final five by approximately March 1st. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year’s recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0