UW Huskies Insider

ND’s Eifert wins Mackey Award over Seferian-Jenkins, Ertz

Post by Todd Dybas / The News Tribune on Dec. 5, 2012 at 9:22 pm with 5 Comments »
December 5, 2012 9:22 pm

It’s a not a surprise and now it’s official. Notre Dame’s Tyler Eifert has won the John Mackey Award, which goes to the country’s best tight end. He beat out Washington’s Austin Seferian-Jenkins and Stanford’s Zach Ertz.

Ertz was named first-team all-Pac-12, so it was clear the national award would be unlikely for Seferian-Jenkins. Here’s the language describing who votes for the award:

” … John Mackey Award Selection Committee, which is composed of respected members of the media and former NFL players.”

Here’s the group that voted:

  • Bruce FeldmanESPN
  • Marc C. ConnollyESPN
  • Lee CorsoESPN College GameDay
  • Tom DienhartYahoo! Sports/Rivals.com
  • Keith JacksonFormer NFL tight end
  • Jerry MackeyCommittee Chairman
  • Adam SchefterESPN NFL Insider
  • Phil SteelePhil Steele’s College Football Preview
  • Tim Stratton — Inaugural John Mackey Award Recipient
  • Dave-Te’ ThomasNFL Draft Biographer
  • Spencer TillmanCBS Sports
  • Dick WeissNY Daily News

Not sure how many Washington (or Stanford or Notre Dame) games Adam Schefter watches. Dick Weiss is a renowned writer … who covers basketball for the New York Daily News.

Ertz and Seferian-Jenkins had similar numbers:  Seferian-Jenkins had 63 catches, 791 yards and six touchdowns. Ertz had 66 catches for 867 yards and six touchdowns. He also played one more game than Seferian-Jenkins.

Eifert may be the best run-blocker among the trio. He had 44 catches for 624 yards and four touchdowns. Certainly the rep and success of his school had something to do with his selection.

Here’s the press release:

Bethpage, N.Y. (December 5, 2012) – The Nassau County Sports Commission, sponsored by Briarcliffe College, has announced Tyler Eifert of Notre Dame as the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient. The John Mackey Award trophy will be presented to Eifert on December 6, 2012, LIVE on ESPNU, at 6:30pm EST as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show. Eifert will also be honored at the 2013 Discover BCS National Championship Game in South Florida on January 7, 2013.

2012 was an outstanding year for Tyler Eifert. The senior recorded 44 receptions for 624 yards and four touchdowns while leading undefeated Notre Dame to the Discover BCS National Championship Game. In addition to the Mackey Award, he has also already been named second-team All American by Walter Camp and CBS Sports. Eifert, who is well known for his blocking ability and receiving prowess, has totaled 134 receptions, 1,779 receiving yards and 11 touchdowns in his career making him the all time career leader in receptions and receiving yards by a Notre Dame Tight End.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame Tight End John Mackey. The 2012 John Mackey Award recipient was determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee.
The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists eleven NFL players as alumni: 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (’01) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (’02), Kellen Winslow II (’03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (’04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (’05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (’06) of the of the Chicago Bears, Fred Davis (’07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman (’08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez (’09) of the New England Patriots, D.J. Williams (’10) of the Green Bay Packers and the 2011 John Mackey Award recipient Dwayne Allen of the Indianapolis Colts.


Leave a comment Comments → 5
  1. When you’re on national TV every week you win awards.

  2. bbnate420 says:

    bvask5, very true. I think that had more to do with it than his blocking.

  3. bbnate420 says:

    Hopefully ASJ can get it in 2013 before he goes to the NFL after his true junior year. He may be a top 15 pick? He’s a great talent.

  4. bbnate..i hope so too. He looks like another Tony Gonzalez.

  5. mojjonation says:

    Being number one has its perks. This apparently is one of them.

We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0