UW Huskies Insider

Wroten named one of five finalists for 2012 Wayman Tisdale freshman of the year award

Post by Ryan Divish on Feb. 15, 2012 at 1:13 pm with No Comments »
February 15, 2012 2:44 pm
AP photo

Tony Wroten was named one of five finalists for the 2012 Wayman Tisdale Award voted on by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. The award goes to the nation’s top freshman.

Joining Wroten as finalists are Anthony Davis and Michael Kidd-Gilchrist of Kentucky, Cody Zeller of Indiana and Austin Rivers of Duke.

Here’s a stat comparison of the finalist ….

STATSTony WrotenAustin RiversM. Kidd-GilchristAnthony DavisCody Zeller
Season2011 2011 2011 2011 2011
MPG29.400 32.160 31.231 31.192 28.160
PPG16.440 14.960 12.269 14.000 15.360
FGM148 127 105 140 138
FGA314 282 221 215 213
FG%47.1 45.0 47.5 65.1 64.8
FTM106 77 98 84 108
FTA188 118 130 119 139
FT%56.4 65.3 75.4 70.6 77.7
3PM9 43 11 0 0
3PA45 105 39 6 0
3P%20.0 41.0 28.2 0.0 0.0
RPG4.720 3.120 7.731 9.885 6.360
ORPG1.960 0.640 2.577 3.038 2.240
DRPG2.760 2.480 5.154 6.846 4.120
APG3.520 2.120 2.154 0.923 1.120
A/T0.900 0.900 0.900 1.000 0.700
TOPG4.000 2.320 2.308 0.923 1.520
SPG1.920 0.960 1.154 1.462 1.400
BPG0.160 0.040 1.077 4.885 1.360
FPG2.840 2.120 2.308 2.038 2.800
EffFG%48.5 52.6 50.0 65.1 64.7

The award will be presented to the men’s National Freshman of the Year at a gala banquet on Mon., April 16 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The announcement of the winner will come at the USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast on Fri., March 30 in New Orleans in conjunction with the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

From the press release …

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU’s Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Ohio State’s Jared Sullinger became the winner of the first Wayman Tisdale Award. Other previous winners of the award include Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

The Tisdale Award winner will receive a statuette designed by nationally-recognized sculptor Shan Gray. The April 16 banquet will also honor Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski as the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award.

The late Wayman Tisdale was a three-time USBWA All-American at the University of Oklahoma. Following a stint on the 1984 U.S. Olympic basketball team, he played 12 seasons in the NBA before retiring in 1997  to focus on a blossoming jazz music career. In March 2007, he was diagnosed with cancer and, following a courageous and difficult battle that included the amputation of his right leg in 2008, he passed away in May 2009.

The Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award presented by Devon is produced by Access Sports, an Oklahoma City-based 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to supporting various charitable causes,  including funding prosthetic devices for needy individuals through the Wayman L. Tisdale Foundation, educational scholarships through the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, and funding of youth basketball programs throughout the state of Oklahoma through Wayman’s Lightning Basketball League.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0