UW Huskies Insider

Fellner listed as top free safety as UW releases depth chart

Post by Todd Milles / The News Tribune on Aug. 30, 2010 at 11:47 am with No Comments »
August 30, 2010 3:02 pm

No real shockers as coach Steve Sarkisian and his staff released the 2010 opening two-deep chart leading up to the game Saturday at Brigham Young University.

Some things that caught my eye:

• Nate Fellner has apparently won the free safety job over Will Shamburger – although Shamburger should play a ton.

• With much speculation about who would start opposite Desmond Trufant at cornerback, Quinton Richardson held off Adam Long for the job.

• Despite De’Shon Matthews having a stellar fall camp, the starting right defensive-end spot went to Everrette Thompson, who is expected to be less than 100 percent from a heel injury until September.

• The swap last week on the offensive line was moving projected starting right guard Mykenna Ikehara to backup center, and elevating Gregory Christine to starting right guard.

• Sarkisian did not reveal his hand on naming a backup quarterback. He lists Keith Price OR Nick Montana.

• Johri Fogerson was listed ahead of Jesse Callier as the No. 2 tailback behind Chris Polk.

• Because of James Johnson’s nagging ankle injury, senior D’Andre Goodwin’s good camp was rewarded with a starting nod at receiver.

Two-deep chart FOR OFFENSE

QB: Jake Locker, Keith Price OR Nick Montana.
TB: Chris Polk, Johri Fogerson, Jesse Callier
FB: Austin Sylvester, Dorson Boyce
TE: Chris Izbicki, Marlion Barnett
WR: Jermaine Kearse, Cody Bruns
WR: D’Andre Goodwin, Jordan Polk
WR: Devin Aguilar, Kevin Smith
RT: Cody Habben, Daniel Kanczugowski
RG: Gregory Christine, Colin Porter
C: Drew Schaefer, Mykenna Ikehara
LG: Ryan Tolar, Nick Wood
LT: Senio Kelemeter, Erik Kohler

Two-deep chart FOR DEFENSE

DE: Everrette Thompson, De’Shon Matthews
DT: Alameda Ta’amu, Semisi Tokolahi
DT: Cameron Elisara, Chris Robinson
DE: Talia Crichton, Hau’oli Jamora
OLB: Mason Foster, Jordan Wallace
ILB: Cort Dennison, Garret Gilliland
OLB: Victor Aiyewa, Matt Houston
FS: Nate Fellner, Will Shamburger
SS: Nate Williams, Sean Parker
CB: Quinton Richardson, Adam Long
CB: Desmond Trufant, Vonzell McDowell Jr.

Two-deep chart for SPECIAL TEAMS

P: Will Mahan, Kiel Rasp
PK: Erik Folk, Eric Guttorp
LS: Brendan Lopez
HOLD: Cody Bruns
KR: Chris Polk AND Kevin Smith
PR: Devin Aguilar, Johri Fogerson

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0