UW Huskies Insider

Pac-10 ‘Conference of Champions’ again

Post by Don Ruiz / The News Tribune on July 2, 2010 at 9:49 am with No Comments »
July 2, 2010 9:49 am

With the academic/athletic year now behind, the Pac-10 lived up to its “Conference of Champions” title by finishing atop the year’s NCAA national championship list, alongside the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Here’s a release from the Pac-10:

Setting the standard of excellence once again, the Pac-10 Conference captured eight NCAA titles during the 2009-10 academic year to tie with ACC for the most national championships of any conference. It marks the 10th time in the last 11 years that the Pac-10 has led or tied for the most NCAA championships won. In addition to the eight national championships, Pac-10 teams posted NCAA runner-up finishes 14 times.

“The Pac-10 and our institutions are proud to continue its tradition as the ‘Conference of Champions’ and we salute all of our champions on another great season,” said Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott.

The Pac-10 men’s and women’s programs shared the wealth in 2009-10 as the Conference claimed five NCAA women’s titles, the most of any conference in the country, and three men’s crowns. Only nine institutions claimed multiple NCAA titles this year, with three of them being Pac-10 schools. USC was the only school in the nation to win three championship crowns. Stanford and UCLA each claimed two NCAA championships to join Duke, North Carolina, Virginia, Florida, Penn State and Texas A&M.

The Trojans swept the men’s and women’s water polo titles, also adding the men’s tennis crown to its trophy case. The Cardinal claimed the top spot in men’s volleyball and women’s tennis, while the Bruins took home titles in women’s gymnastics and softball.

Highlights from the 2009-10 campaign include three Pac-10 teams placing in the top four in both the men’s and women’s swimming championships. The championship series of the NCAA Women’s College World Series included two Pac-10 teams, the men’s and women’s tennis crowns were captured on the same day, and an all-Pac-10 finals matchup in women’s water polo.

In addition, Stanford has clinched its unprecedented 16th-consecutive Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup, an award presented annually to the top intercollegiate athletic program in the country.

The Pac-10 championship tradition includes 390 all-time team titles won by Pac-10 institutions, by far the most of any conference in the country and over 150 more championships than the next closest league (Big Ten).

PACIFIC-10 3 5 8
ACC 4 4 8
Big Ten 3 2 5
Big 12 3 1 4
SEC 2 1 3
Big East 0 2 2
Mountain West 1 0 1
Ind./Other 2 2 4

* Tallies include NCAA-sponsored championships only.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0