UW Huskies Insider

Red carpet for All-Purple gridiron performers

Post by Todd Milles / The News Tribune on Dec. 9, 2009 at 9:01 pm with No Comments »
December 9, 2009 9:01 pm

If you made a significant contribution, chances are you were leaving with hardware Wednesday night as the Washington Huskies celebrated their end-of-the-year team banquet at the downtown Westin Hotel.

Quarterback Jake Locker, the junior from Ferndale, captured the Guy Flaherty Award – the program’s oldest and most prestigious honor – as the team’s most inspirational player.

Running back Chris Polk received the team offensive MVP nod, linebacker Donald Butler was the best defender and placekicker Erik Folk took the honor for special teams.

Senior Daniel Te’o-Nesheim was the only repeat winner as the Walt Rising defensive lineman of the year at defensive end, and Wilson High’s Desmond Trufant captured the Travis Spring outstanding freshman honor.

2009 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Jake Locker

950 KJR Most Valuable Offensive Player
Chris Polk

950 KJR Most Valuable Defensive Player
Donald Butler

950 KJR Most Valuable Special Teams Player
Erik Folk

101 Club Academic Award
Paul Homer

John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year
Senio Kelemete

L. Wait Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year
Daniel Te’o-Nesheim

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Mason Foster

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Victor Aiyewa

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Desmond Davis

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Keith Price

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Tim Tucker

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Cole Sager

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Desmond Trufant

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Jason Wells

Weight Lifting Awards
Offense: Ryan Tolar
Defense: Daniel Te’o-Nesheim
Construction Crew: Tobias Togi

Apple Cup Big Play of the Game
Jermaine Kearse

Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award
Joseph Wood
Elise Becker

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0