UW Huskies Insider

Four UW captains named before regular season

Post by Todd Milles / The News Tribune on Aug. 28, 2009 at 9:00 pm with No Comments »
August 28, 2009 9:00 pm

As is usually the tradition, coach Steve Sarkisian left the decision solely up to the players, and their votes for 2009 team captains were revealed Friday at the "Raise The Woof" celebration at Husky Stadium.

Quarterback Jake Locker and center Ryan Tolar were selected from the offensive side of the ball, and defensive end Daniel Te’o-Nesheim and linebacker Donald Butler were named from the defense.

This is Te’o-Nesheim’s second appointment. He was one of the four captains from last season’s team under former coach Tyrone Willingham. He started all 12 games, and the senior from Waikoloa, Hi. was among the Pacific-10 Conference leaders in sacks (eight) and tackles for loss (111/2).

Butler, the team’s representative at Pac-10 media day in July, is moving back to inside linebacker after E.J. Savannah was reinstated with the team during the offseason. Butler is the team’s second-leading active player in tackles (145) behind Te’o-Nesheim’s 157.

Locker, the Pac-10 freshman of the year in 2007, played just four games last season before suffering a season-ending thumb injury against Stanford. The Ferndale native was hurt on a play blocking for a teammate downfield. The last quarterback to be a Husky captain was Cody Pickett, in 2003.

Tolar, the Pasco product who has moved from guard to center, extends the string of a center being selected to three years in a row. Juan Garcia was a two-time selection the past two seasons, and Tolar exemplifies the same gritty qualities as him.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0