Word on the Street

The latest news in and around Tacoma, Pierce County and South Puget Sound

NOTICE: Word on the Street has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Word on the Street.
Visit the new section.

Pierce County Auditor’s Office announces special 3-day candidate filing period for elections

Post by Kari Plog / The News Tribune on May 30, 2013 at 1:32 pm with No Comments »
May 30, 2013 1:32 pm

The Pierce County Auditor’s Office announced an elections filing period for races that have yet to attract candidates for the August primary and the November general election.

The special three-day filing period begins Wednesday and concludes June 7, according to a Pierce County news release.

There are 25 county races without candidates across Pierce County, including positions for city councils and school, fire and water districts. State law requires filing be reopened when no one files for a position during the regular filing period, according to the release.

People interested in open positions can file online at piercecountyelections.org or in person at the Pierce County Election Center located at 2501 South 35th Street in Tacoma. Online filing ends June 7 at 4 p.m. In-person filing ends June 7 at 4:30 p.m.

The primary election is Aug. 6. The general election is Nov. 5.

Open positions, according to the county’s release, are listed below:

City of Roy - Council Position 3

Town of South Prairie - Mayor and Council Position 5

Dieringer School District No. 343 - Director District 1 and 2

Eatonville School District No. 404 - Director District 2

Crystal Mountain Fire District No. 25 - Commissioner Positions 1, 2 and 3

Greenwater Fire District No. 26 - Commissioner Position 2

Ashford Water District - Commissioner Position 1

Burnett Water District - Commissioner Positions 2 and 3

Clear Lake Water District - Commissioner Position 2

Elbe Water District - Commissioner Positions 2 and 3

Elkhorn Water District - Commissioner Positions 1, 2 and 3

Kopachuck Ridge Estates Water District - Commissioner Positions 1, 2 and 3

McKenna Water District - Commissioner Position 2

Valley Water District - Commissioner Position 3

Crystal Mountain Sewer District - Commissioner Position 2

Kari Plog: 253-597-8682


Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0