Word on the Street

The latest news in and around Tacoma, Pierce County and South Puget Sound

NOTICE: Word on the Street has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Word on the Street.
Visit the new section.

Civilian hall of fame at JBLM inducts 2 new members

Post by Christian Hill / The News Tribune on May 23, 2012 at 2:41 pm with No Comments »
May 24, 2012 5:13 pm

Joint Base Lewis-McChord welcomed two new inductees into its civilian hall of fame Wednesday.

Former DuPont mayor Tamara Jenkins and Ken Swarner, co-publisher and editor of the Fort Lewis Ranger, were recognized during a ceremony earlier today.

Ken Swarner
Tamara Jenkins

Under Jenkin’s leadership, DuPont created a memorial wall to honor fallen service members who lived in the south Pierce County city  — three names will be added on Memorial Day — and in 2010 organized a combined Fourth of July and pro-troop parade.

Swarner’s active support of the military includes organizing events so families of deployed soldiers can have pictures taken with Santa Claus, spouses can get a day of pampering on Valentine’s Day and school kids at Lewis-McChord can build gingerbread houses.

Senior Lewis-McChord officers select nominees for the hall of fame, which permanently recognizes residents in surrounding communities whose efforts makes a different in the lives of local service members and their families.

Seventeen people have been previously inducted into the hall of fame since its creation in 2003. They are:

2011 – Herbert Schmeling, retired command sergeant major and Lewis-McChord volunteer

2011 – Janice Buckley, Heartbeat founder and president

2010 – Mike Fried, Lewis-McChord volunteer

2010 – Denise Dhane, Operation Make a Soldier Smile

2010 – Vicky Mohler, Support America’s Armed Forces

2007 – Nadine Gulit, Operation Support Our Troops

2007 – Al Eckroth, co-founder of Hawks Prairie Military Family Support March in Lacey

2006 – Kathy Turner, former Puyallup mayor

2006 – Marion Sydenham-Ball, Fort Lewis volunteer

2005 – Dick Muri, Pierce County Councilman

2005 – Adam Smith, U.S. Congressman

2004 – Bill Harrison, former Fort Lewis commanding
general and first mayor of Lakewood

2004 – Mark Foutch, Olympia Mayor

2004 – Ron Lucas, Steilacoom Mayor

2004 – Richard Bever, former chairman, Military Affairs Committee
of the Lacey-Thurston County Chamber of Commerce

2004 – Doc Hastings, U.S. Congressman

2004 – Norm Dicks, U.S. Congressman

Follow me on Twitter @TNTchill

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0