Word on the Street

The latest news in and around Tacoma, Pierce County and South Puget Sound

NOTICE: Word on the Street has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Word on the Street.
Visit the new section.

Haiti quake victims: How to help

Post by Joyce Chen on Jan. 13, 2010 at 4:37 pm with 3 Comments »
January 19, 2010 1:37 pm

To help out the victims of Tuesday’s earthquake in Haiti, you can donate to the following organizations:

AmeriCares: Donate online at www.americares.org

American Red Cross: Call 1-800-REDCROSS or 1-800-257-7575 (Spanish) or donate online at www.redcross.org. Checks to the International Response Fund can be sent to the American Red Cross, P.O. Box 37243, Washington, D.C. 20013. Text “HAITI” to 90999 to donate $10. The donation will be charged to your cellphone bill.

Childcare Worldwide: Donate online at www.childcareworldwide.org

Church World Service: Donate online at www.churchworldservice.org

Doctors Without Borders: Donate online at doctorswithoutborders.org

Friends of the Orphans: Donate online at www.friendsoftheorphans.org or call the Friends of the Orphans Northwest regional office at 425-646-3935.

Habitat for Humanity: Donate online at www.habitat.org

International Relief Teams: Donate online at www.irteams.org. Send checks payable to International Relief Teams to 4560 Alvarado Canyon Rd., Suite 2G, San Diego, CA 92120-4309.

Medical Teams International: Call 1-800-959-HEAL or donate online at www.medicalteams.org. Send checks to Medical Teams International, P.O. Box 10, Portland, OR 97207-0010.

Mercy Corps: Donate online at www.mercycorps.org

Oxfam America: Donate online at http://www.oxfamamerica.org

Save the Children: Donate online at www.savethechildren.org

The Salvation Army: Call 1-800-SAL-ARMY or donate online at www.salvationarmyusa.org. Send checks designated “Haiti Earthquake” to The Salvation Army World Service Office, International Disaster Relief Fund, PO Box 630728, Baltimore, MD 21263-0728.

World Hope International: Donate online at www.worldhope.org

World Vision: Call 1-888-56-CHILD or donate online at www.worldvision.org. The Federal Way-based humanitarian agency has worked in Haiti for 30 years, with 370 staff members already in the country at the time of the earthquake.

Categories:
General
Tags:
Leave a comment Comments → 3
  1. Pray4Peace says:

    Ms. Chen,

    Most of these links are not working for some reason.

  2. Joyce Chen says:

    Links fixed this afternoon. Thanks for the heads up.

*
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0