Sounders Insider

Seattle Sounders FC and the Puget Sound soccer scene

Two Sounders among MLS honors finalists

Post by Don Ruiz / The News Tribune on Nov. 20, 2013 at 3:39 pm with No Comments »
November 20, 2013 3:42 pm

Sounders defender DeAndre Yedlin and forward/midfielder Lamar Neagle were among the finalist for MLS postseason awards announced today — Yedlin for rookie of the year, and Neagle for comeback player.

Here’s the release from the league:

Major League Soccer today announced the finalists for its 2013 awards. The winners for each award will be revealed in the coming weeks.

The finalists, listed in alphabetical order below for each award, earned the most votes in polling of three voting groups:

· Current MLS players
· MLS Clubs (Coaches, Technical Directors, Chief Business Officers and PR/Community Relations)
· Media members who covered MLS regularly in 2013

This season’s most outstanding individual plays will be honored on Thursday, Dec. 5 when the AT&T Goal of the Year and the Save of the Year are announced. Voting for the Goal and Save of the Year is conducted on the League’s official web site

The awards announcements conclude on Thursday, Dec. 5 with the unveiling of the 2013 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player.

2013 Major League Soccer Awards Finalists
(Listed in alphabetical order by last name within each award category)

AT&T Rookie of the Year Finalists
Deshorn Brown (Colorado Rapids)
Dillon Powers (Colorado Rapids)
DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Xbox Individual Fair Play Finalists*
Jalil Anibaba (Chicago Fire)
Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake)
Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers)

*Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games & minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

Xbox Team Fair Play Finalists*
Houston Dynamo
LA Galaxy
Vancouver Whitecaps FC

*Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fewest fouls committed, cards received, and on subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

Defender of the Year Finalists
Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City)
Jose Goncalves (New England Revolution)
Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)

MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year Finalists
Jeb Brovsky (Montreal Impact)
Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)
Matt Reis (New England Revolution)

Referee of the Year Finalists
Ismail Elfath
Hilario Grajeda
Baldomero Toledo

Assistant Referee of the Year Finalists
Frank Anderson
Bill Dittmar
Kermit Quisenberry

Coach of the Year Finalists
Jason Kreis (Real Salt Lake)
Mike Petke (New York Red Bulls)
Caleb Porter (Portland Timbers)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists
Kevin Alston (New England Revolution)
Conor Casey (Philadelphia Union)
Lamar Neagle (Seattle Sounders FC)

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists
Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City)
Donovan Ricketts (Portland Timbers)
Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists
Jose Goncalves (New England Revolution)
Nigel Reo-Coker (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists
Marco DiVaio (Montreal Impact)
Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy)
Mike Magee (Chicago Fire)

Awards Announcements Schedule:
Schedule subject to change
November 25: AT&T Rookie of the Year, Xbox Fair Play Individual & Team of the Year

November 26: MLS Defender of the Year, MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year, and Referee/Assistant Referee of the Year

December 2: MLS Coach of the Year and Comeback Player of the Year

December 3: 2013 MLS Best XI

December 4: Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year and Newcomer of the Year

December 5: AT&T Goal of the Year, MLS Save of the Year and Volkswagen MLS MVP

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0