Sounders Insider

Seattle Sounders FC and the Puget Sound soccer scene

MLS rolls out first of 2012 awards; no Sounders

Post by Don Ruiz / The News Tribune on Nov. 19, 2012 at 8:54 am with No Comments »
November 19, 2012 8:55 am

MLS has announced the first of its postseson awards in three categories in which Sounders were not contenders.

Here’s the release from the league:

Major League Soccer today announced the 2012 Rookie of the Year, as well as the Xbox Individual and Team Fair Play awards.

2012 Rookie of the Year: Austin Berry – Chicago Fire

A hard-nosed, blue collar defender out of the University of Louisville, Austin Berry developed into one of the top young center backs in the League. In his rookie season, Berry showcased his physical talents, skill and composure under pressure while starting 28 consecutive matches for the Men in Red, tallying three goals and contributing to the success of the Chicago Fire defense that only allowed 41 goals during the course of the 2012 campaign.

All first-year players in MLS without previous professional experience were eligible for the Rookie of the Year award, voted by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were D.C. United forward Nick DeLeon and Vancouver Whitecaps FC forward Darren Mattocks. Below is a breakdown of the voting for the top five candidates:

2012 Xbox Individual Fair Play Award: Logan Pause – Chicago Fire

In his 10th season with the Chicago Fire, the University of North Carolina product started 31 games for the club this year and scored one goal with only two shots on target. In 2,424 minutes played this season, Pause committed just 11 fouls and received no red or yellow cards. The other two finalists were Chivas USA defender Ante Jazic and New York Red Bulls defender Heath Pearce.

This award is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games & minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

2012 Xbox Team Fair Play Award: New England Revolution

The New England Revolution committed the second-lowest number of fouls (360) in the league in 2012. The team’s 40 cautions were the league’s third-lowest total, while the team’s two red cards are tied for the second-lowest total in MLS. Additionally, no Revolution player served a caution accumulation suspension this year. This is the Revolution’s third time winning this award as they garnered the honors back in 2003 and 2008.

The award is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fewest fouls committed and cards received, and subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0