Sounders Insider

Seattle Sounders FC and the Puget Sound soccer scene

Four-year CCL, Gold Cup deal for Fox Soccer

Post by Don Ruiz / The News Tribune on Aug. 14, 2012 at 10:07 pm with No Comments »
August 14, 2012 10:10 pm

This just in from CONCACAF:

TheConfederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today that it has signed a four-year agreement with FOX Soccer to broadcast the CONCACAF Gold Cup and CONCACAF Champions League.

The deal starts with the current Champions League season, continuing through the 2015-2016 edition. It also covers the 2013 and 2015 Gold Cups, giving FOX Soccer exclusive English-language rights in the United States to both of CONCACAF’s showpiece events.

“We are extremely proud to continue our partnership with FOX Soccer,” said CONCACAF President, Jeffrey Webb. “CONCACAF is committed to organizing great tournaments that showcase many of the best players in the world.

“The incredible success of our teams at the Olympics demonstrates the deep pool of talent that our member associations are developing throughout the confederation. Our agreement with FOX Soccer offers us the stage to present that talent to the American audience.”

FOX Soccer has the option of broadcasting all Champions League and Gold Cup matches through its wide array of multimedia platforms that also includes FOX Soccer Plus and This component of the agreement also allows for on-demand access to all matches and highlights, providing FOX Soccer’s fan base exclusive access to the region’s top domestic competitions.

“Our new agreement with CONCACAF comes at a time when soccer in our region of the world is better than ever, with both Gold medal winners from this year’s Olympic Games hailing from North America,” said FOX Soccer Executive Vice President and General Manager David Nathanson. “Providing unparalleled access to our region’s top competitions adds to FOX Soccer’s comprehensive portfolio of premier global properties.”

The CONCACAF Champions League, inaugurated in the 2008-09 season, is the confederation’s annual club championship. It features 24 teams from each of CONCACAF’s three sub-regions — North America,Central America and the Caribbean. Monterrey has captured the last two championships, overcoming the USA’s Real Salt Lake (2011) and fellow Mexican club Santos (2012) 3-2 on aggregate on both occasions.

The CONCACAF Gold Cup, started in 1991, is the confederation’s biennial championship for national teams that is contested in odd-numbered years. It is a 12-team event that is played in 13 different cities across the United States with countries qualifying from CONCACAF’s three regions. Mexico has won the tournament a record six times, including the last competition in 2011, when it defeated the United States 4-2 in the final before a crowd of 93,420 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.

“The Gold Cup is one of the world’s most successful continental competitions for national teams and the Champions League has experienced sensational growth in a short period of time,” Webb commented. “We want to keep moving forward on both fronts and are delighted that FOX Soccer will be with us every step of the way.”

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0