Seahawks Insider

Category: Awards and honors


Kennedy finally takes rightful place in Hall

Former Seattle Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy. (Bruce Kellman/TNT file photo)

Good things come to those who wait, and that was the case for former Seattle Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy, who finally was voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame this afternoon after four straight years as a finalist.

The 44-person selection committee inducted five modern-day new members into the Hall. Along with Kennedy, others include running back Curtis Martin, offensive lineman Dermontti Dawson, defensive end Chris Doleman and offensive tackle Willie Roaf

Players who finished in the top 10 but did not make the final cut include: receivers Cris Carter and Andre Reed, coach Bill Parcells, defensive end Charles Haley and cornerback Aeneas Williams.

Candidates who did not make the final 10 include wide receiver Tim Brown, running back Jerome Bettis, offensive lineman Will Shields, linebacker Kevin Greene and former San Francisco owner Eddie DeBartolo.

Senior committee nominee cornerback Jack Butler was inducted into the Hall of Fame, but the other senior nominee offensive lineman Dick Stanfel was not.

Read more »


Marshawn Lynch headed to Pro Bowl

The Seattle Seahawks announced this afternoon that running back Marshawn Lynch was added to the NFL Pro Bowl roster, the fifth player headed to Hawaii for the Seahawks this year. Lynch replaces San Francisco running back Frank Gore, who will not play in the game because of an illness.

Lynch set career highs in rushing yards (1,204), carries (285) and rushing touchdowns (12) this season. Lyncb also set a franchise record with at least one touchdown in 11-straight games, breaking Shaun Alexander’s 2005 record of nine. Lynch became Seattle’s first 1,000-yard rusher since Alexander set a club record in

Read more »


Earl Thomas headed to Hawaii for Pro Bowl

Seattle Seahawks safety Earl Thomas (29) reacts after recovering a fumble by Chicago Bears wide receiver Johnny Knox (13) in the first half of an NFL football game in Chicago, Sunday, Dec. 18, 2011. Knox was injured on the play. (AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh)

The Pro Bowl drought for the Seattle Seahawks is over.

For the first time since 2008, a Seattle player will travel to Hawaii to play in the annual NFL all-star game.

With the Pro Bowl team announced this afternoon, Seattle second year pro safety Earl Thomas has been voted onto the team. Thomas was named as an alternate in his rookie season last year.

Thomas is second on the Seahawks in tackles with 92, has two interceptions on the year and anchors a secondary that ranks fourth in the NFC in total pass defense.

Thomas is the first Seattle safety voted to the Pro Bowl since Darryl Williams made the team in 1997.

The Seahawks also have five players who are alternates: cornerback Brandon Browner (first), safety Kam Chancellor (first), fullback Michael Robinson (first), running back Marshawn Lynch (second) and punter Jon Ryan (third).

Read more »


Hawthorne earns NFC defensive player of the week honors

Seattle Seahawks' David Hawthorne briefly glances back as he returns an interception 77 yards for a touchdown against the Philadelphia Eagles in the second half of an NFL football game, Thursday, Dec. 1, 2011, in Seattle. The Seahawks won 31-14. (AP Photo/Elaine Thompson)

According to the team’s web site, Seattle Seahawks linebacker David Hawthorne has earned NFC defensive player of the week honors for the first time in his career for his effort against the Philadelphia Eagles last week.

Hawthorne finished tied with fellow linebacker Leroy Hill with a team-high six tackles, and also intercepted a Vince Young pass out in the flat intended for running back LeSean McCoy and returned it 77 yards for a touchdown.

Hawthorne is the second Seattle defensive player in three weeks to receive the award. Defensive end Chris Clemons was voted defensive player of the week for his effort three weeks ago against St. Louis, finishing with three sacks and two forced fumbles.

Read more »


Clemons named NFC defensive player of the Week

According to the team’s web site, Seattle Seahawks defensive end Chris Clemons will be named the NFC defensive player of the week. An announcement by the league is expected tomorrow.

Clemons totaled three sacks and two forced fumbles against St. Louis on Sunday, upping his sack total to eight on the year, good enough for ninth overall in the league.

Clemons is the first Seahawk to receive player of the week recognition this season. Last year, punter Jon Ryan, kicker Olindo Mare and returner Leon Washington all received special teams player of the year honors.

Read more »


A statue for Walter Jones

Now you can see former Seahawks offensive tackle Walter Jones whenever you want.

You just have to make a trip to Sea-Tac Airport.

Tuesday afternoon the Seahawks held an unveiling for a new, 8-foot bronze statue of the legendary Seattle offensive tackle. The statue sits out front of the team’s new restaurant at the North terminal of the airport, called the Seattle Seahawks 12 Club – named after Seahawks 12th Man.

The new restaurant is a joint venture between the Seahawks and HMSHost, a dining and shopping company for travel venues.

Jones’ likeness stands in full pads, ready

Read more »


Third time not a charm for Kennedy

For the third straight year former Seattle Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy failed to make the cut in this year’s NFL Hall of Fame voting, announced this afternoon.

Kennedy made the list of 10 finalists for a second straight year, but was not the players inducted into this year’s the Hall of Fame.

Those getting gold jackets and a bust in Canton include cornerback Deion Sanders, running back Marshall Faulk, defensive end Richard Dent, tight end Shannon Sharpe, linebackers Chris Hanburger and Les Richter, and Ed Sabol, the founder of NFL Films.

Ricter and Hanburger were senior candidates.


Read more »


Randle in, Kennedy out in Hall of Fame voting

Former Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy will have to wait another year to take his rightful place among the best players to have played in the NFL.

Kennedy was not among a list of seven selected for enshrinement into the Pro Hall of Fame. But another former Seahawk, John Randle, is headed to Canton, along with four other finalists, including Jerry Rice, Russ Grimm, Emmitt Smith and Rickey Jackson.

The two nominees of the Seniors Committee, Dick LeBeau and Floyd Little, also not made the cut. Nominees need 80 percent of the vote from the 44-member panel to get in.

Read more »