The Prep Blog

Covering high school sports in Tacoma, Pierce County and the South Sound

NOTICE: The Prep Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Prep Blog.
Visit the new section.

Tag: Team


‘Champions Rally’ to honor Curtis basketball team set for Monday night

Open to the public, Curtis High School will host a “Champions Rally” for its Class 4A state-winning boys’ basketball team in University Place on Monday night.

A host of special guests, including district superintendent Patti Banks, high school principal David Hammond, athletic director Terry Jenks, varsity basketball coach Tim Kelly and a couple of players, will be guest speakers at the ceremony, which is set to begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Vikings’ home gymnasium.

A video tribute, plus performances by the school’s cheerleading squad and marching band will follow. Also, Curtis basketball championship apparel will be available for purchase.


TNT unveils 2012-13 All-Area Wrestling team


106: Spencer Schroeder, sr., Graham-Kapowsin (28-10)
113: Fred Green, so. Orting (33-1)
120: Andrew Ramirez, so., Lakes (41-2)
126: Colton Tracy, jr., Bonney Lake (31-5)
132: Cameron Nolan, sr., Tumwater (25-7)
138: Dillon Harris, sr., Yelm (29-3)
145: Ian Steen, sr., Graham-Kapowsin (35-3)
152: Casey Larson, sr., Peninsula (32-5)
160: A.J. Atoigue, sr., Sumner (38-1)
170: Nick Karis, sr., Decatur (36-1)
182: Chili Sabin, sr., Bonney Lake (36-2)
195: Jake Ferris, sr., Wilson (30-1)
220: Stone Hart, sr., Timberline (30-0)

Read more »


All Area Football: Liufau is player of the year, Finch is coach of the year

Been working plenty the past few days finishing up The News Tribune’s annual All Area football team for the 2012 season.

Thought I would reveal who is on it:

QB: Austin Filkins, Peninsula
RB: Teague James, Graham-Kapowsin
RB: Ralph Kinne, Shelton
RB: Chico McClatcher, Federal Way
WR: Kahlil Dawson, Graham-Kapowsin
WR: Joshua Eckwood, Lincoln
WR: Victor Gamboa, Washington
OL: Mat Cox, Capital
OL: Robert Luke, Charles Wright Academy
OL: Macartney McQuery, Bellarmine
OL: Alex Young-Salanoa, Spanaway Lake
AP: Andrew Brown, Tumwater
PK: Mitchell Cox, Kentwood


Read more »