The Prep Blog

Covering high school sports in Tacoma, Pierce County and the South Sound

NOTICE: The Prep Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Prep Blog.
Visit the new section.

Tag: NFF


Football: Pierce County National Football Foundation finalists

The Pierce County chapter of the National Football Foundation will hand out awards at its 36th annual scholar athlete banquet Sunday at Curtis High.

Bob Robertson will emcee the event and YMCA director Phil Carter, a former standout at Wilson High and Notre Dame, is the guest speaker.

Here are of the finalists. The two winners will receive $1,500 scholarships and each one of the semifinalists will receive a $750 scholarship. Thirty-five nominees will get a $100 scholarship.

2012 NFF Finalists

Paul Walrof Lineman Award

Joseph Lovejoy, Bellarmine Prep
Christopher Harmon, Lakes
Theodore Bridgman, Curtis
Kodiak Lyons, Tacoma Baptist
Read more »


Winners named for Tacoma-Pierce County National Football Foundation scholarships

Scholarship winners were named Sunday at the 35th Annual Tacoma-Pierce County chapter of the National Football Foundation & Hall of Fame banquet at Curtis High School.

Peninsula senior Michael Sly was the winner in the lineman category, edging out Bryce Plancich of Bellarmine Prep, John Funk of Lakes and Isaac Smith of Curtis.

Rogers’ Wes Salyer and Clover Park’s Tana Pritchard shared the back of the year award. Graham-Kapowsin’s Erik Nothstein, Lakes’ Kyle Gallagher and Gig Harbor’s Troy Castle were also finalists.

Here’s a photo of Salyer — nice tux — with coaches Gene Bowen and Danny Carlson.