The Prep Blog

Covering high school sports in Tacoma, Pierce County and the South Sound

NOTICE: The Prep Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Prep Blog.
Visit the new section.

Winners named for Tacoma-Pierce County National Football Foundation scholarships

Post by Doug Pacey / The News Tribune on May 3, 2011 at 11:27 am with No Comments »
May 3, 2011 11:27 am

Scholarship winners were named Sunday at the 35th Annual Tacoma-Pierce County chapter of the National Football Foundation & Hall of Fame banquet at Curtis High School.

Peninsula senior Michael Sly was the winner in the lineman category, edging out Bryce Plancich of Bellarmine Prep, John Funk of Lakes and Isaac Smith of Curtis.

Rogers’ Wes Salyer and Clover Park’s Tana Pritchard shared the back of the year award. Graham-Kapowsin’s Erik Nothstein, Lakes’ Kyle Gallagher and Gig Harbor’s Troy Castle were also finalists.

Here’s a photo of Salyer — nice tux — with coaches Gene Bowen and Danny Carlson.

Rogers' Wes Salyer, center, poses with coaches Danny Carlson (left) and Gene Bowen at the Tacoma-Pierce County chapter of the National Football Foundation banquet Sunday at Curtis High School.
Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0