The Prep Blog

Covering high school sports in Tacoma, Pierce County and the South Sound

NOTICE: The Prep Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Prep Blog.
Visit the new section.

Narrows League will divide into 4A, 3A divisions

Post by Doug Pacey / The News Tribune on March 23, 2010 at 3:41 pm with No Comments »
March 23, 2010 5:42 pm

The Narrows League will be divided into 4A and 3A divisions, beginning in the fall.

The multi-classification, 14-school conference will have eight 4A schools – Bellarmine Prep, South Kitsap, Stadium, Central Kitsap, Olympia, Gig Harbor, Mount Tahoma and Shelton – and six 3A schools – Foss, Wilson, Yelm, Lincoln, Timberline and Capital.

Another option that was considered was creating divisions based on geography and lumping together schools that were close in proximity.

To help fill out the regular season schedule for 3A Division football teams, the league has worked out an agreement with the SPSL 3A, which will also have six schools, for each team to play two non-league games against teams from the other league.

One other football-related note to pass along, Lakes athletic director Joe Keller told me that the Lancers have scheduled a home-and-home series with Evergreen High School, a 4A school from Vancouver. Lakes will host the Plainsmen this fall and travel in 2011.

Evergreen, which competes in the Greater St. Helens League, went 4-5 last year, suffering its first losing season in 12 years.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0