The Prep Blog

Covering high school sports in Tacoma, Pierce County and the South Sound

NOTICE: The Prep Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Prep Blog.
Visit the new section.

All-State volleyball teams

Post by Doug Pacey / The News Tribune on Dec. 21, 2008 at 5:27 pm with No Comments »
December 21, 2008 5:27 pm

Here are the seventh annual all-state volleyball teams, as selected by a panel of sportswriters from 13 newspapers around the state. Rene Ferran of the Tri-Cities Herald is to thank for compiling the nominations and counting the votes.

To have received recognition, a player had to have been named on at least two ballots.

Class 4A

Player of the Year — Oceana Bush, OH, Lewis & Clark.

Coach of the Year — Julie Yearout, Lewis & Clark.

First team

Hitters — Alexis Olgard, Mead; Kylin Munoz, Monroe; Jessie Genger, Kentwood; Marcy Hjellum, Kamiakin; Oceana Bush, Lewis & Clark.

Setters — Leanna Ludes, Skyview; Brigit Miller, Olympia; Shelby Swanson, Kamiakin.

Libero — Liz Haskey, Puyallup.

Click here to see the 4A second team and the rest of the teams.

Second team

Hitters — Lauren Campbell, Kentwood; Ashleigh Pollard, Rogers (Puyallup); Chloe Rowand, Lewis & Clark; Marlayna Geary, Bellarmine Prep; Devon Brown, Skyview.

Setters — Hilary Koenigs, Lewis & Clark; Kaitlyn Drew, Monroe.

Liberos — Megan Triggs, Olympia; Zoe Iida, Bothell.

Honorable mention

Hitters — Daria Winckler, Davis; Elizabeth Clark, Southridge; Tori Fisher, Eisenhower.

Setter — Stephanie Shumaker, Kentwood.

Liberos — Jadelyn Thompson, Marysville-Pilchuck; Hailey Lanning, Pasco; Katie Grajewski, Kentwood; Sarah Girard, Kamiakin.

Class 3A

Player of the Year — Jocelyn Levig, OH, Sumner.

Coach of the Year — Brooke Cooper, Shadle Park.

First team

Hitters — Ashley Eneliko, Kennedy; Ellie Radich, Eastside Catholic; Janelle Chow, Mercer Island; Jocelyn Levig, Sumner; Brooke Bachesta, Eastside Catholic; Miranda Pratt, Mount Si.

Setters — Megan McBride, Auburn Mountainview; Camryn Irwin, Prairie.

Libero — Brittany Lawrence, Capital.

Second team

Hitters — Amy Before, Shadle Park; Morgan Merriman, Lakeside (Seattle); Melissa Geiss, Bishop Blanchet; Kristyn Ross, Capital.

Setters — Brenna Peterson, Capital; Deedra Foss, Lakes.

Libero — Chelsea Jurkovich, Mercer Island.

Honorable mention

Hitter — Fei Oloi, Timberline.

Setters — Sascha Burton, Nathan Hale; Lindsay Neimeier, Shadle Park; Gabbi Sisco, Enumclaw.

Liberos — Emily Halvorson, Holy Names; Karly Edwards, Bonney Lake; Monica Marchak, Columbia River.

Class 2A

Player of the Year — Amanda Warner, OH, Tumwater.

Coach of the Year — Tana Croft, Tumwater.

First team

Hitters — Jessi Roberts, Lynden; Amanda Warner, Tumwater; Kinzi Poteet, Grandview; Alex Sele, Tumwater; Kierstin Wilson, Selah; Kinsey Davis, Burlington-Edison.

Setters — Alyssa Wold, West Valley (Spokane); Maci Hunt, North Mason.

Libero — Katrina McClaflin, Tumwater.

Second team

Hitters — Rebecca Haight, Mark Morris; Ashley Broadwell, Archbishop Murphy; Allison Walker, Othello; Danielle Cook, North Mason.

Setters — Alayna Kramme, Lynden; Taylor Aschenbrenner, Black Hills.

Libero — Brandi Benner, Lynden.

Honorable mention

Hitters — Averyl Shindruk, Lynden; Kailah Lenz, Black Hills.

Setters — Taylor Dillard, Fife; Danielle Gilchrist, Mark Morris; Vanessa Medina, Grandview.

Libero — Allison Beardsley, Fife.

Class 1A

Player of the Year — Anna Cesari, S, King’s.

Coach of the Year — Steve Bain, King’s.

First team

Hitters — Ashley Wright, Cascade (Leavenworth); Becky Flores, River View; Hannah Velling, Cascade Christian; Aubree Pocklington, Montesano; Eva Grassl, Connell.

Setters — Anna Cesari, King’s; Kylee Bellamy, Goldendale.

Libero — Lacey Seidl, Castle Rock.

Second team

Hitters — Chani Brisby, River View; Li Murphy, Annie Wright; Linde Maertens, Coupeville; Jamie Brunner, Chelan.

Setters — Samantha Gordon, Onalaska; Kelli Bowers, Chelan.

Libero — Meagan Foote, King’s.

Honorable mention

Hitters — Emmy Dolan, Castle Rock; Jessica Coots, Kettle Falls; Jordan Irish, King’s; K.C. Schmit, Kalama; Dionna Kirton, King’s.

Setters — Brianne Vincent, Cascade (Leavenworth); Michelle DeHaan, Lynden Christian.

Liberos — Katie Waters, Cascade (Leavenworth).

Class 2B

Player of the Year — Shelby Puckett, MB, Tekoa-Oakesdale.

Coach of the Year — Sue Doering, Colfax.

First team

Hitters — Kayla Johnson, Colfax; Shelby Puckett, Tekoa-Oakesdale; Abi Hedlund, La Conner; Theresa Mott, South Bend.

Setters — Amy Van Beek, Riverside Christian; Ashlynn Smith, Liberty Christian; Rachel Johnson, Colfax.

Libero — Mandy Powell, Darrington.

Second team

Hitters — Emily Elhard, Evergreen Lutheran; Erin Scholz, Colfax; Mariah McHolland, Rainier Christian; Desiree Chappell, Tekoa-Oakesdale; Kiani Saluni, Toutle Lake.

Setter — Danielle Medina, Bridgeport.

Liberos — Brandi Malakoff, Toutle Lake; Michelle FitzGerald, Pomeroy.

Honorable mention

Hitters — Emily Shepard, Riverside Christian; Jessika Jo Sandrini, Adna; Kenzie Graber, Davenport; Madison Hahn, Riverside Christian.

Setters — Candice Pedroza, La Conner; Mariah Mielke, Davenport.

Class 1B

Player of the Year — Esther Timofeyev, MH, Moses Lake Christian.

Coach of the Year — Sandy Martin, LaCrosse-Washtucna.

First team

Hitters — Esther Timofeyev, Moses Lake Christian; Shayla Nagel, Neah Bay; Shyanne Wilson, Northport; Janessa Reynvaan, Wishkah Valley; Kelly Zimmer, LaCrosse-Washtucna.

Setters — Kali Fargher, Klickitat; Abby Bangs, Sunnyside Christian; Gladys Martinez, LaCrosse-Washtucna.

Libero — Trisha Luft, St. John-Endicott.

Second team

Hitters — Jewel Gamboa, Wilbur-Creston; Laura Williams, Crescent; Emily PostVanderBurg, Lopez.

Setter — Carly Sansom, Lake Quinault.

Libero — Alicea Scott, Mary M. Knight.

Honorable mention

Hitters — Kadee McCanna, St. John-Endicott; Katelynn Clinton, Bickleton; Samantha Brewer, Klickitat.

Libero — Kelsey Dorman, Touchet.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0