The Prep Blog

Covering high school sports in Tacoma, Pierce County and the South Sound

NOTICE: The Prep Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Prep Blog.
Visit the new section.

All-State girls soccer, volleyball teams

Post by Doug Pacey / The News Tribune on Dec. 21, 2008 at 5:32 pm with No Comments »
December 21, 2008 5:32 pm

Here are the seventh annual all-state girls soccer teams, as selected by a panel of sportswriters from 12 newspapers around the state. Rene Ferran of the Tri-Cities Herald is to thank for compiling the nominations and counting the ballots.

To have received recognition, a player had to have been named on at least two ballots.

Here’s a link to the all-state volleyball teams.

Click below to see the all-state girls soccer teams.

Class 4A

Player of the Year — Emily Hurd, F, Eastlake.

Coach of the Year — Don Braman, Skyline.

First team

Forwards — Megan Miller, Todd Beamer; Morgan Sullivan, Pasco; Emily Hurd, Eastlake; Kasey McNeill, Southridge.

Midfielders — Tianna Brockway, Stadium; Holland Crook, Todd Beamer; Claire Yearin, Bellarmine Prep; Aubri Squire, Battle Ground; Megan Bolmes, Jackson.

Defenders — Courtney Pixler, Eastlake; Lauren Layton, Mead; Rachel Bindl, Kentwood; Sarah Katterhagen, Bellarmine Prep.

Goalkeeper — Kaitlyn Savage, Gig Harbor.

Second team

Forwards — Kiara Williams, Skyline; Chelsi Pennington, Kentwood; Kaleen Berg, Lake Stevens; Mackenzie Garrett, Eastlake.

Midfielders — Kelsey Fuik, Olympia; Heather Thomas, Woodinville; Jolene Crook-Meyers, Kentwood; Kaylie Winston, Pasco.

Defenders — La’Quilla Upton, Southridge; Sandra Osborn, Lake Stevens; Gabby Morgan, Woodinville; Nicole Grigg, Pasco.

Goalkeeper — Nicole Eddings, Issaquah.

Honorable mention

Forwards — Jori Skorpik, Kamiakin; Audrey Sullivan, Emerald Ridge; Cara Wegner, Jackson; Megan Lindsay, Gonzaga Prep.

Midfielders — Bria Caldwell, Richland; Madi Barney, Skyline; Marina Austin, Olympia; Morgan Swanson, Stadium; Taylor Bolibol, Woodinville.

Defenders — Meagan McKinney, Kamiakin; Meaghan Hatcher, Jackson.

Goalkeepers — Natalie Harold, Heritage; Courtney Hancock, Southridge.

Class 3A

Player of the Year — Valerie Stahl, D, Everett.

Coach of the Year — Kosta Pitharoulis, Everett.

First team

Forwards — Amber Fenton, Sumner; Rebekah Kurle, Kennedy; Annie Sittauer, Everett; Averi Hallman, Mount Spokane; Megan Dire, Union.

Midfielders — Emi Lawson, Lakeside (Seattle); Julia Besagno, Kennedy; Brina Sych, Union; Nikki Stanton, Mount Si.

Defenders — Carly Holmes, Meadowdale; Valerie Stahl, Everett; Amy Marple, Union; Britney Carlson, Kennedy.

Goalkeeper — Marikka Benson, Timberline.

Second team

Forwards — Kari Flaatrud, Capital; Haley Curtis, West Valley (Yakima); Julia Fjortoft, Meadowdale.

Midfielders — Kaycee Davis, Yelm; Alysia Letourneau, Everett; Emily Eckmann, Seattle Prep; Rachel Schrote, Shorecrest.

Defenders — Kate Toepher, Mount Vernon; Molly Boyd, Nathan Hale.

Goalkeeper — Caroline Towles, Shorecrest.

Honorable mention

Forwards — Sele Vance, Everett; Olivia Sylvester, Seattle Prep.

Midfielders — Andrea O’Leary, Olympic; Kelsey Blais, Seattle Prep.

Defenders — Alexus Shefts, Seattle Prep; Ashley Rojan, Shorecrest; Jessica Rankin, Shorecrest.

Goalkeepers — Alexis Lopez-Shaw, Holy Names; Emily Nestling, Everett.

Class 2A

Player of the Year — Amanda Roselli, F, Fife.

Coach of the Year — Terri Shimoda, Fife.

First team

Forwards — Amanda Roselli, Fife; Kellie Zakrzewski, Cheney; Brittany Johnson, Hockinson; Megan Beisley, North Mason.

Midfielders — Lexy Fancher, Black Hills; Lindsey Bos, Archbishop Murphy; Torri Sitzman, Hockinson; Caroline Brawner, Archbishop Murphy; Jessica Baken, East Valley (Yakima).

Defenders — Alli Beard, Archbishop Murphy; Mette Rousseau, Burlington-Edison; Emily Allison, Hockinson; Gena Gaylord, Fife.

Goalkeeper — Ryann Waldman, Fife.

Second team

Forwards — Hadli Farrand, Ellensburg; Helen Peterson, Prosser; Katie Bergquist, Tumwater.

Midfielders — Carolyn Ranten, Burlington-Edison; Haley Shaw, Fife; Alyssa Marre, Mark Morris; Jessica Colburn, Fife; Maggie Pleis, Cedarcrest.

Defenders — Ashley Villm, Tumwater; Amy Sterk, Pullman; Michelle Phillips, Black Hills; Haley Clapp, Cedarcrest.

Goalkeeper — Alexa Hughes, Archbishop Murphy.

Honorable mention

Forwards — Adrianna Jones, East Valley (Yakima); Bailey Gates, Burlington-Edison; Christy Polis, Mark Morris; Tanya Haggen, Sehome.

Defender — Kaya Jones, Sehome.

Goalkeepers — Amanda Freisz, East Valley (Yakima); Ashley Haden, Hockinson; Hanna Wade, Bellingham; Kori Butterfield, Cedarcrest.


1A Player of the Year — Sierra Keeler, F, Seattle Academy.

2B/1B Player of the Year — Ally Hernandez, F, La Salle.

Coach of the Year — Rob Phillips, Seattle Academy.

First team

Forwards — Kylie Brunner, Cashmere; Sierra Keeler, Seattle Academy; Ally Hernandez, La Salle; Hillary Zevenbergen, King’s; Terrika Weaver, Seattle Christian.

Midfielders — Emily Thompson, Naches Valley; Ali Ohashi, Montesano; Grace Lorette, Evergreen Lutheran; Kendall Thoreson, King’s.

Defenders — Becca Lane, Montesano; Katie Yarnell, Columbia (White Salmon); Hillary Quinn, King’s; Shelby Wilkerson, La Center.

Goalkeeper — Kayle Pingeon, Orting.

Second team

Forwards — Mikayla Shumate, Montesano; Acacia Johnson, Orting; Candi Zion, Toledo-Winlock; Chloe Cross, Bush; Shay Cheeseman, La Center.

Midfielders — Whitney Reynier, Columbia (White Salmon); Lindsey Vandergrift, Seattle Academy; Sari Munoz, Wahluke; Barbara Horta, Warden.

Defenders — Rachel Taylor, Connell; Terri Tigert, Meridian; Jessica Brown, Kiona-Benton; Achijah Berry, Seattle Academy.

Goalkeeper — Rose Averbeck, Manson.

Honorable mention

Forwards — Alma Garcia, Highland; Whitney Porter, Friday Harbor.

Midfielders — Stephanie Wytko, La Salle; Jacque Davis, Cashmere.

Defenders — Allison Mitchell, Seattle Christian; Christina Saucedo, Bridgeport; Molly Deming, Toledo-Winlock.

Goalkeepers — Carolyn Dapper, King’s; Brandi Adaszewski, Lakeside (9 Mile Falls); Chelsea Adkins, La Salle.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0