The Prep Blog

Covering high school sports in Tacoma, Pierce County and the South Sound

NOTICE: The Prep Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Prep Blog.
Visit the new section.

All-State softball teams

Post by Doug Pacey / The News Tribune on June 24, 2008 at 9:37 pm with No Comments »
June 24, 2008 9:37 pm

Here are the all-state softball teams as voted on by media, including The News Tribune, from across the state and compiled by Tri-City Herald reporter Rene Ferran. To receive recognition, a player had to receive at least two votes.


Player of the year: Sam Skillingstad, Shadle Park.

Coach of the year: George Crowder, Eastlake.

First team

Pitchers Felicia Harris, Kentlake; Sam Skillingstad, Shadle Park; Stephanie Fox, Eastlake.

Catcher Briar Stanley, Monroe.

Infielders Amber Roberts, Wilson; Brittany Dinelt, Wilson; Nicole Morrow, Rogers (Puyallup); Staci Doucette, Evergreen (Vancouver).

Natalie Leyland, Richland; Kimi Pohlman, Eastlake; Allie Burger, Shadle Park; Megan Antonovich, Pasco.

Second team

Pitchers Jordan Birch, Monroe; Jordyn Kurtz, Stadium; Kendra Suhr, Mountain View.

Catchers Kyndell Andrews, Emerald Ridge; Tressa Predisik, Shadle Park.

Infielders Kaitlin Steichen, Richland; Shayla May, Moses Lake; Lauren Bukovi, Skyview; Vanessa Chithim, Wenatchee.

Outfielders Jessica Kallander, Oak Harbor; Erin Fujita, Thomas Jefferson.

Honorable mention

Pitchers Devan McComb, Woodinville; Bobbi Jo Schapveld, Rogers (Puyallup); Kaela DeBroeck, Walla Walla; Katie King, Richland.

Catchers Anthea Aasen, Wilson; Molly Anderson, Gonzaga Prep.

Infielders China Frost, Shadle Park; Katie Kine, Mead; Sam Miller, Stadium.

Outfielders Breanne Bilbrey, Kentlake; Erin Cross, Wilson.


Player of the year Karli Merlich, Kennedy.

Coach of the year Dino Josie, Kennedy.

First team

Cory Mattson, Everett; Karli Merlich, Kennedy; Amanda Fitzsimmons, Auburn Riverside; Annaleisha Parsley, Timberline.

Catcher Taylor Smith, Timberline.

Infielders Taylor Beebe, Capital; Allegra Wilde, Kamiakin; Emily Nordhoff, Holy Names; Jill Parker, Enumclaw.

Outfielders Chelsie Kakela, Bainbridge; Danielle Colburn, Timberline; Katie Grad, Auburn Riverside; Maggie Whaley, Kennedy.

Second team

Caitlin Colvin, Bonney Lake; Stacey Hagensen, Newport (Bellevue).

Catcher Lindsy Dugan, Kennedy.

Infielders Chynna Sandhop, Eastmont; Allison Kutz, Mount Vernon; Ally Pappas, Everett; Ashley Raben, Timberline; Sarah Martinez, Mount Rainier.

Outfielders Jerrica Kang, Lynnwood; Kim Hare, North Central.

Honorable mention

Kelsie Vallies, North Central; Maddie Lynch-Crumrine, Sedro-Woolley; Shelby Voelz, Hudson’s Bay; Crystal Nyman, Kelso.

Catchers Molly Nelson, Issaquah; Jill Barnett, Mount Vernon; Heather Worley, Southridge.

Infielders Amanda Hall, Kennewick; Valerie Stahl, Everett.

Outfielders Candy Button, Holy Names; Hannah Sherwood, Liberty (Issaquah); Alexandra Hudson, Everett.


Player of the year
Nina Gonzalez, Othello.

Coach of the year Rudy Ochoa, Othello.

First team

Lindsey Dawson, Burlington-Edison; Nina Gonzalez, Othello; Lindy Baxter, River Ridge; Renee Cuillier, East Valley (Yakima).

Catcher Jordan Scherer, Centralia.

Infielders Ashley Andrews, Tumwater; Marki Creger-Zier, Steilacoom; Rachelle Berry, Burlington-Edison; Megahan House, Mark Morris.

Outfielders Kendall Grant, W.F. West (Chehalis); Brandy Orgill, Tumwater; Alexis Montemayor, Othello.

Second team

Katelyn Stanley, North Mason; Lauryn Ticknor, W.F. West (Chehalis); Ramona Lorton, Centralia.

Catcher Erica Wheeler, Othello.

Infielders Ashlynn Valicoff, East Valley (Yakima); Krista Bickar, Hoquiam; Michelle Wheeler, Othello; Shayd Urhausen, Colville.

Outfielders Mira Hobson, R.A. Long; Chelsea Bowman, West Valley (Spokane); Kayla Rieger, Anacortes; Kylee Mollotte, Othello.

Honorable mention

Baily Harris, R.A. Long; Kayli Johnston, Mark Morris.

Catchers Emilee Lepp, Colville; Anna Heitstuman, North Mason.

Infielders Alexa Harvey, River Ridge; Caitlin Linehan, W.F. West (Chehalis); Jordan Emmil, Colville; Sara Brennan, Anacortes.

Outfielders Yolanda Chinn, Sequim; Ivanna Lomas, Lynden; Jennica Ebel, Colville; Tristan Stromberg, North Mason.


Player of the year
Aubree Pocklington, Montesano.

Coach of the year Pat Pace, Montesano.

First team

Mariah Dawson, LaCenter; Debbie Molsbarger, Connell; Samantha Watkins, Castle Rock.

Catcher Aubree Pocklington, Montesano.

Infielders Lindsay Melton, Castle Rock; Tori Erickson, Montesano; Courtney Lloyd, Montesano; Kiersten Radden, Friday Harbor.

Outfielders Robyn Garing, Chimacum; Kilee Lippincott, Chelan; Lesley Soto, Nooksack Valley.

Second team

Erika Ramstead, Nooksack Valley; Kim Harter, Chelan; Mikayla Shumate, Montesano.

Catcher Melissa Barcellos, Lakeside (Nine Mile Falls).

Infielders Yesenia Vergara, Connell; Becca King, Bellevue Christian; Lacey Reed, Orting; Emilie Wagler, Cedar Park Christian.

Outfielders Taviah Jenkins, Castle Rock; Lesley Anker, Nooksack Valley; Liz Hartman, Montesano.

Honorable mention

Sadie Lazzarini, Colfax; Casi White, Naches Valley; Kylie Garing, Chimacum.

Catchers Anna Pickett, Chelan; Ashley Gilman, Castle Rock.

Infielders Amanda Tevelde, Nooksack Valley; Amanda Martin, Warden; Brooke Gaston, LaCenter; Kelsey Raines, Freeman; Lacey Seidl, Castle Rock; Natasha Moore, LaCenter; Alexis Justus, Forks.

Outfielders Chelsea Rinard, Kalama; Natasha Kiesel, Chimacum; Stephanie Bartlett, Royal.


Player of the year
Jessika-Jo Sandrini, Adna.

Coach of the year Mark Benson, Toutle Lake.

First team

Amanda Arnzen, DeSales; Jessika-Jo Sandrini, Adna; Heather Pope, Selkirk.

Catcher Juana Lara, Adna.

Infielders Camille Depew, Seattle Lutheran; Melanie Shank, Tacoma Baptist; Tarin Bond, Adna; Cara Peacock, Orcas Island.

Outfielders Jordan Zurfluh, Adna; Teesha Steppes, Mossyrock; Valerie Noble, Toutle Lake.

Honorable mention

Hannah Pomeroy, Mossyrock; Rachel Dahlman, Toutle Lake; Camille Depew, Seattle Lutheran; Dallas Maupin, Kittitas; Brittany Woods, Pe Ell; Brook Ferderer, Reardan.

Catchers Erin Mertens, DeSales; Sara Schlachter, Dayton; Lauren Nichols, La Salle.

Infielders Brook Ferderer, Reardan; Lacey Hoffman, Toutle Lake; Jennifer Mullins, White Pass; Tiani Morales, Mossyrock.


Player of the year
Thea Sansom, Touchet.

Coach of the year Gary Dorman, Touchet.

First team

Shawnee Ledbeter, Entiat; Thea Sansom, Touchet; Kellie Sansom, Lake Quinault.

Catcher Kelsey Dorman, Touchet.

Infielders Taryn Short, Touchet; Courtney Druffel, Colton; Courtney Blanchfield, Entiat; Bridget Bower, Garfield-Palouse; Emma Newhouse, Sunnyside Christian.

Outfielders Zoe Weaver, Touchet; Heather Burdick, Entiat; Elisha Lopez, Garfield-Palouse.

Honorable mention

Jordan Signor, Inchelium; Hilary Bosma, Sunnyside Christian; Jessica Charley, Taholah.

Catchers Elisha Lopez, Garfield-Palouse; Serena Condon, Inchelium.

Infielders Megan Howerton, Touchet; Jordan Frederick, Odessa; Linda Solis, Touchet.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0