The Prep Blog

Covering high school sports in Tacoma, Pierce County and the South Sound

NOTICE: The Prep Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Prep Blog.
Visit the new section.

AP All-State basketball teams

Post by Doug Pacey / The News Tribune on March 26, 2008 at 5:44 pm with No Comments »
March 26, 2008 5:44 pm

Ferris’ DeAngelo Casto and Prairie’s Ashely Corral have been voted the state boys and girls basketball players of the year by the Associated Press.

Sports writers from around the state vote for these postseason honors.

The AP reported that six boys received votes for state player of the year honors, with Casto edging teammate Shawn Stockton. Corral was a near-unanimous selection.

Bellarmine Prep’s Abdul Gaddy and Avery Bradley were first-team selections. This is the second year in a row Bradley has been voted to the team. Kavario Middleton made the 3A first team for the second straight season. Charles Wright’s Gerald Hill was a boys 1A first-team choice.

Auburn Riverside’s Katie Grad was named the 3A girls player of the year and Lakes’ Sara Halasz was a first-team selection. River Ridge’s Sophie Russell was a first-team pick in 2A.

Click below for the complete list of teams.


State Player of the year: DeAngelo Casto, sr., Ferris.


Player of the year: DeAngelo Casto, sr., Ferris.

First team: DeAngelo Casto, sr., Ferris; Abdul Gaddy, jr., Bellarmine Prep; Shawn Stockton, sr., Ferris; Peyton Siva, jr., Franklin; Avery Bradley, jr., Bellarmine Prep.

Honorable mention: Renado Parker, sr., Kentridge; Josh Smith, so., Kentwood; Tony Wrotten, fr., Garfield; Gavin Gilmore, sr., Pasco; Jared Karstetter, sr., Ferris.


Player of the year: Reggie Moore, sr., Rainier Beach.

First team: Reggie Moore, sr., Rainier Beach; Mike Ladd, sr., Rainier Beach; Steven Bjornstad, jr., Columbia River; Kavario Middleton, sr., Lakes; Nick Stackhouse, sr., Squalicum.

Honorable mention: Anthony Enriquez, sr., Lakes; Will Sharp, North Thurston; Jermaine Kearse, sr., Lakes; Kellen Drake, Eastmont; Evan Berndt, sr., West Valley (Yakima).


Player of the year: Daniel Simon, sr., Ephrata.

First team: Jake Anderson, sr., Burlington-Edison; Daniel Simon, sr., Ephrata; Jeray Key, sr., Mark Morris; Kevin Komstadius, sr., East Valley (Yakima); Patrick Simon, so., Ephrata.

Honorable mention: Kellen Crawford, sr., Prosser; Tanner Bradley, sr., R.A.

Long; Willie Blodgett, jr., Wapato; Brady Bomber, sr., Lynden.


Player of the year: Rich Skillman, sr., Nooksack Valley.

First team: Rich Skillman, sr., Nooksack Valley; Joe Harris, so., Chelan; Erich Fuhlendorf, sr., King¹s; Gerald Hill, sr., Charles Wright; Levi Davis, sr., River View.

Honorable mention: John Gage, so., Vashon; R.J. Solis, sr., Granger; Dylan O¹Neil, sr., King¹s; Brett Clyde, sr., Connell; Andrei Lintz, sr., Meridian.


Player of the year: Chris Pynch, sr., Riverside Christian.

First team: Chris Pynch, sr., Riverside Christian; Brandon Hoff, sr., Toutle Lake; Zac Kinman, Oroville; Chase Ramey, jr., Northwest Christian (Colbert); Kevin Spivey, sr., Ocosta.

Honorable mention: Ryan Fox, Northwest Christian (Lacey); Matt Zandbergen, jr., Northwest Christian (Colbert); Jason Lindeman, La Conner; Connor Walsh, Liberty Bell.


Player of the year: Joel Koopmans, sr., Sunnyside Christian.

First team: Joel Koopmans, sr., Sunnyside Christian; Adrian Moffett, jr., Moses Lake Christian; Jeremy Siefken, sr., Liberty Christian; Loren Pickering, sr., North River; Jordan Smith, sr., Lopez Island.

Honorable mention: Mark Wilson, jr., Liberty Christian; Josiah Tampien, Tekoa-Oakesdale; Jacob Andersen, Entiat.


Player of the year: Ashley Corral, sr., Prairie.


Player of the year: Ashley Corral, sr., Prairie

First team: Ashley Corral, sr., Prairie; Kristi Kingma, sr., Jackson; Britanny Kennedy, sr., Lewis and Clark; Carly Noyes, jr., Moses Lake; Ashlee Smith, sr., Skyview.

Honorable mention: Necie Samms, sr., Mount Tahoma; Lexie Pettersen, Shadle Park; Jordan Loera, fr., Moses Lake.


Player of the year: Katie Grad, sr., Auburn Riverside.

First team: Katie Grad, sr., Auburn Riverside; Eryn Jones, sr., Meadowdale; Sara Halasz, sr., Lakes; Brittany Quick, sr., Hanford; Brittany Gray, sr., Bainbridge.

Honorable mention: Nichole Jackson, jr., Auburn Riverside; Chene Cooper, sr., Lakes; Mercedes Wetmore, so., Auburn Riverside.


Player of the year: Kayla Standish, sr., Ellensburg.

First team: Kayla Standish, sr., Ellensburg; Sophie Russell, sr., River Ridge; Courtney VanBrocklin, sr., Mount Baker; Allison Walker, jr., Othello; Brittany Janz, Anacortes.

Honorable mention: Tamara Jones, fr., Prosser; Brandi Thomas, Elma; Lindsey Newman, jr., South Whidbey; Morgan Schwegler, Tumwater; Ashley Andrews, Tumwater.


Player of the year: Brianne Ryan, sr., Lynden Christian.

First team: Brianne Ryan, sr., Lynden Christian; Brianna Smith, sr., Columbia (Burbank); Cierra Silverthorn, Tonasket; Kenzie DeBoer, jr., Lynden Christian; Melissa Meza, Lake Roosevelt.

Honorable mention: Jordan Harazin, Colfax; Ana Jimenez, jr., Mabton; Janae Klarich, so., Granger; Lanie Kary, sr., Ilwaco; Tiffany Idler, so., Columbia (Burbank).


Player of the year: Jasmine Stohr, sr., La Salle.

First team: Jasmine Stohr, sr., La Salle; Breanna Moody, sr., White Pass; Courtney May, sr., Napavine; Megan Spence, King’s West; Sarah Petrino, sr., Mossyrock.

Honorable mention: Korrie Bourn, Liberty Bell; Lindsey Wagner, Northwest Chrsitian (Lacey); Shelby Barnes, so., Asotin.


Player of the year: Clara Hull, sr., Pateros.

First team: Clara Hull, sr., Pateros; Megan Howerton, sr., Touchet; Elisha Lopez, Garfield-Palouse; Kellie Sansom, jr., Lake Quinault; Melanie Van Wingerden, jr., Sunnyside Christian.

Honorable mention: Andrea Schutt, sr., Sunnyside Christian; Sarah Brady, Jr., Lummi; Alicea Scott, Mary M. Knight.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0