The Politics Blog

The Politics Blog » General Politics » TVW earns Cronkite award

The Politics Blog

NOTICE: The Politics Blog has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Politics Blog.
Visit the new section.

TVW earns Cronkite award

Post by Brad Shannon / The Olympian on March 6, 2013 at 10:01 am with No Comments »
March 6, 2013 10:08 am
Greg Lane
Greg Lane

Washington’s public-affairs network TVW announced this morning it has won the 2013 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Television Political Journalism. The honor was bestowed by The Norman Lear Center at the Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism at the University of Southern California.

Also getting an award was Northwest Cable News Network in Seattle for “innovative production techniques,” use of social media to engage viewers and its “analysis-heavy coverage… a political junkie’s dream.

TVW, a nonprofit, was cited for its compelling and fair treatment of state issues. “As you might imagine, we’re pretty excited over here today,” TVW president Greg Lane remarked in an email.

You can read the TVW press release here. The full list of award winners is here.






TVW Wins Walter Cronkite Journalism Award

TVW has won a 2013 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Television Political Journalism, as announced today by The Norman Lear Center at the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism.

TVW was the sole public or PBS television station selected to receive the Cronkite Award in the Local Public Station category.  According to the Lear Center, TVW was chosen for “compelling, fair and very visual treatment of issues affecting the state,” adding, “Washington voters are lucky to have TVW as a news source to turn to.”

“We are both honored and thrilled to have TVW’s work recognized with such a distinguished award,” said Greg Lane, President of TVW, Washington’s independent and non-profit state public affairs television network.  “We strive to produce engaging, balanced and in-depth programs that inform our viewers about important issues and help them understand how those issues might impact their lives. It’s extremely gratifying to have that work acknowledged on the national stage.”

Noting that TVW is the first public affairs television network to win a Cronkite Award, Lane added, “This award highlights the positive and increasingly valuable role that independent state public affairs networks like TVW play as trusted, balanced and unbiased sources of information about state issues and politics, especially given the decrease of reporting that is taking place by other media in statehouses around the country.  I only wish more states had them.”

The Walter Cronkite Awards for Excellence in Television Political Journalism are named for distinguished journalist and longtime CBS anchor Walter Cronkite. The awards are given every two years “to recognize television journalism that helps viewers understand who the candidates are; what the issues and ballot propositions are; how electoral choices will affect their lives; how to assess campaign information, including advertising; and how to register, vote and make their own voices heard.”  2013 winners were selected by a panel of nine judges, chaired by Geneva Overholser, director of the USC Annenberg School of Journalism.

Lane will represent TVW at a ceremony at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., on Friday, April 19, to receive the award.  Other 2013 Cronkite Award recipients include CNN, ABC News, Northwest Cable News (NWCN), BET, Univision, and six other local broadcast stations from across the country.  For more information about the Cronkite Awards, including a list of past winners, visit

– 30 –




General Politics
Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0