Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Tag: Mark Miloscia


House votes for taxes

Hours after its unveiling, the tax compromise cleared the House by a vote of 52-44.

All Republicans and a few Democrats voted ‘no’. South Sound Democrats who broke with their party included Reps. Christopher Hurst, Troy Kelley, Mark Miloscia and Larry Seaquist, who opposed earlier versions of the tax package, plus Rep. Geoff Simpson, who switched to a ‘no’ vote from his support last time around.

Rep. Dawn Morrell, who had voted ‘no’ on earlier versions of the bill, switched to a ‘yes’ vote.


Democrats rethink dumping ethics board

House Democrats are giving second thoughts to getting rid of the Executive Ethics Board.

Rep. Mark Miloscia plans to run an amendment to Democrats’ spending plan that would restore funding for the ethics board, which the Ways and Means Committee voted last week to eliminate.

Democrats talked about the idea in their private caucus Thursday night. “We had a good discussion, and I think I’ve convinced the members to support it,” Miloscia said.

Killing the board would save less than $500,000, but lawmakers like Rep. Jeannie Darneille said the board is unproductive and focused on

Read more »


Who voted against shelving I-960

A number of South Sound Democrats diverged from their party by voting to keep Initiative 960 in effect.

The initiative requires a two-thirds majority vote in the Legislature to raise taxes. Suspending it required only a majority in the House and Senate, and there was little suspense that Democrats would get that. Leaders had counted their votes and were confident. But the votes were close, reflecting the tough politics of being seen as opposing the will of voters.

Reps. Christopher Hurst, D-Enumclaw, Troy Kelley, D-Tacoma, Dawn Morrell, D-Puyallup, Mark Miloscia, D-Federal Way, and Larry Seaquist, D-Gig Harbor, voted “no” Wednesday night, joining all South Sound Republicans. A version that passed the Senate was opposed by Sens. Claudia Kauffman, D-Kent, and Sen. Derek Kilmer, D-Gig Harbor.

Read more »