Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Gambling Commission makes interim director David Trujillo its permanent leader

Post by Melissa Santos / The Olympian on June 19, 2013 at 3:24 pm | No Comments »
June 19, 2013 3:37 pm

trujilloA 22-year employee of the Washington State Gambling Commission will serve as its  new director, the commission’s five citizen members decided Wednesday.

The commissioners voted unanimously in favor of appointing David Trujillo, who has served as interim director of the gambling commission since former director Rick Day left in February. Before that, Trujillo spent 3 1/2 years as deputy director of the organization, which regulates gambling in Washington state and helps oversee 28 tribal casinos.

While at the gambling commission, Trujillo has also worked as the administrator in charge of licensing services, assistant director of the licensing operations division, and as a field operations agent.

“There are virtually no areas of the commission’s operation that he is not personally familiar with,” said John Ellis, chairman of the gambling commission.

Trujillo said he looks forward to hearing commissioners’ ideas regarding the agency’s future, and believes his many years working there will prove an asset.

“It’s something I think I’ve been working toward for a very long time,” Trujillo said. “I’m very excited to bring my experience to the mantle of director.”

Trujillo won’t get a raise with his new job. He will continue earning an annual salary of $129,168, the Gambling Commission decided Wednesday. That number will increase by 3 percent July 1, when a salary reduction that has been in effect for state workers is set to expire.

The News Tribune now uses Facebook commenting on selected blogs. See editor's column for more details. Commenters are expected to abide by terms of service for Facebook as well as commenting rules for thenewstribune.com. Report violators to webmaster@thenewstribune.com.