Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

It’s official: Washington gives its 12 Electoral College votes to Obama in Olympia ceremony

Post by Brad Shannon / The Olympian on Dec. 17, 2012 at 1:23 pm with No Comments »
December 17, 2012 1:23 pm

Washington state’s 12 Electoral College electors did their work over the lunch hour in Olympia today, awarding their votes to President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden. Outgoing Secretary of State Sam Reed presided over the ceremony in the Capitol’s ornate reception room in the once-every-four-years ritual that follows the presidential election.

Nationwide, Obama received 332 votes and Republican challenger Mitt Romney’s ticket received 206. Electors across the country were formalizing that result today.

Even as Reed was still handing out embossed certificates of participation to the electors, his press office was announcing the vote was done – see details here, including statements from Reed and Gov. Chris Gregoire.

Ten of the electors are from specific congressional districts – including Harvey Brooks of University Place in the 10th district that includes Olympia and Shelton; Gail Kirk of Tacoma in the 6th; and Elizabeth Satiacum of Olympia in the 8th.

A joint press release from the Governor’s Office and Secretary of State’s Office lists the other electors, as:

The 12 electors submitted by the state Democratic Party are:
1st District: Grifynn Clay of Snohomish;
2nd District: Dave Gossett of Mountlake Terrace;
3rd District: Kathleen Lawrence of Vancouver;
4th District: George Fearing of Kennewick;
5th District: Rick Lloyd of Spokane Valley;
7th District: Maria Ehsan of Seattle;
9th District: Georgia Spencer of Seattle; and
At-large electors are Heather Fralick of Shoreline and Alec Stephens of Seattle.
Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0