Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

House Dems re-elect Chopp, Sullivan, Tami Green

Post by Jordan Schrader / The News Tribune on Nov. 16, 2012 at 3:56 pm with No Comments »
January 28, 2013 6:28 pm

House Democrats gave new terms to its top leadership team today as Speaker Frank Chopp of Seattle and Majority Leader Pat Sullivan of Covington retained the top two positions in the caucus.

Frank Chopp

The full House picks a speaker, which happens on the first day of the legislative session, but Democrats’ substantial majority and the unsurprising vote today ensure Chopp will be speaker for an eighth term, a tenure that started with three years as co-speaker.

Pierce County retains a member of top leadership with the re-election of Rep. Tami Green of Lakewood as Democrats’ floor leader.

Here’s the news release:

House Democrats retain key leadership team

Further elections to be held soon

OLYMPIA – The House Democratic Caucus met in Olympia today and re-elected a number of leaders for the next Legislature.

· Frank Chopp (Seattle): House Speaker-designate

· Pat Sullivan (Covington): Majority Leader

· Eric Pettigrew (Seattle): Majority Caucus Chair

· Kevin Van De Wege (Sequim): Majority Whip

· Tami Green (Lakewood): Majority Floor Leader

The remaining members of the HDC Leadership team, including the Speaker pro tem-designate, will be elected at a future date.

The Speaker-designate and Speaker pro tem-designate must be elected by the entire House on the first day of the 2013 session.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0