Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Draft maps would squeeze legislators out of their districts

Post by Jordan Schrader / The News Tribune on Sep. 13, 2011 at 7:28 pm with No Comments »
September 16, 2011 1:27 pm

The Redistricting Commission must redraw the state’s 49 legislative districts, and the four draft maps show many lawmakers squeezed out of their existing districts, including Democratic Rep. Troy Kelley of Tacoma, who would move from the Lakewood-centered 28th to the urban 27th under Republican plans.

Democrats would make the 28th a more urban district to keep Kelley in it.

Republican commissioner Slade Gorton would bump Sen. Tracey Eide of Redondo into the 33rd where she could have to compete with fellow Democrat Karen Keiser.

But it’s Democratic commissioner Tim Ceis’s proposal that pushes the most lawmakers out of their districts. One set of dominoes would fall with his move of Republican Rep. Gary Alexander of Thurston County out of the 20th and into the 2nd that stretches up into southwest Pierce County.

Ceis’ proposal would then push Rep. Jim McCune, a Graham Republican, out of the 2nd and into the reconfigured 31st.

Ceis would also move Republican Sens. Mark Schoesler, Andy Hill, Bob Morton, Joe Fain, Val Stevens, Dan Swecker, Don Benton, Michael Baumgartner and Reps. Vincent Buys, Mike Hope, Norm Johnson, Ed Orcutt and Ann Rivers. Democratic Reps. Bob Hasegawa and Tim Probst too. Some of those lawmakers plan to step down or run for other offices.

Republican commissioner Tom Huff would bump Democratic Reps. Kelley, Hasegawa, Deb Eddy, Luis Moscoso, Brian Blake, Marko Liias and Fred Finn and Sens. Paull Shin and Brian Hatfield. He would also move Orcutt and Rep. Hans Zeiger – who told redistricters he won’t be affected because he can move out of his apartment.

Gorton would also move Reps. Kelley, Hasegawa, Orcutt, Blake, Zeiger, Moscoso, Marcie Maxwell, Zack Hudgins, Joe Fitzgibbon and Roger Goodman.

Commissioner Dean Foster moves the fewest lawmakers: Republican Reps. Buys, Orcutt, Zeiger, Susan Fagan and Joe Schmick, plus Sens. Schoesler and Baumgartner and Democratic Rep. Ruth Kagi.

UPDATE 9:45 a.m.: A spokeswoman for Hope says the Lake Stevens Republican would not lose his district under Ceis’s proposal. Hope was on Ceis’s list as one of those being bumped, but Ceis’s map shows Lake Stevens staying in the 44th district.

Corrected reference to 31st district.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0