Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Filing week: Who’s running for office

Post by John Henrikson / The News Tribune on June 11, 2010 at 6:28 pm with No Comments »
June 11, 2010 6:28 pm

Today marked the end of filing week for candidates to make the ballot for federal, legislative, county and judicial offices. Races with more than two candidates face a top-two primary on Aug. 17. Others move on to November’s general election. Here’s a list of selected races compiled from state and Pierce County reports.

U.S. Senator, Washington State
Schalk Leonard (States No Party Preference)
i – Patty Murray (Prefers Democratic Party)
Norma D. Gruber (Prefers Republican Party)
James (Skip) Mercer (States No Party Preference)
Goodspaceguy (Prefers Democratic Party)
Mike The Mover (Prefers Democratic Party)
William Edward Chovil (Prefers Republican Party)
Charles Allen (Prefers Democratic Party)
Dino Rossi (Prefers Republican Party)
Bob Burr (Prefers Democratic Party)
Paul Akers (Prefers Republican Party)
Clint Didier (Prefers Republican Party)
Mohammad H. Said (Prefers Centrist Party)
Mike Latimer (Prefers Republican Party)
Will Baker (Prefers Reform Party)

U.S. Representative, 3rd Congressional District
Jaime Herrera (Prefers Republican Party)
Denny Heck (Prefers Democratic Party)
David W. Hedrick (Prefers Republican Party)
David B. Castillo (Prefers Republican Party)
Cheryl Crist (Prefers Democratic Party)
Norma Jean Stevens (Prefers Independent Party)

U.S. Representative, 6th Congressional District
Doug Cloud (Prefers Republican Party)
i- Norm Dicks (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jesse Young (Prefers Republican Party)

U.S. Representative, 8th Congressional District
Suzan DelBene (Prefers Democratic Party)
Ernest Huber (Prefers Republican Party)
i- Dave Reichert (Prefers Republican Party)
Keith Arnold (Prefers Democratic Party)
Tom Cramer (Prefers Democratic Party)
Boleslaw (John) Orlinski (Prefers Democratic Party)
Tim Dillon (Prefers Republican Party)
Robin Adair (Prefers Independent Party)
Caleb Love Mardini (States No Party Preference)

U.S. Representative, 9th Congressional District
Roy Olson (Prefers Green Party)
i- Adam Smith (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jim Postma (Prefers Republican Party)
Richard (Dick) Muri (Prefers Republican Party)

Legislative District 2
State Representative, Pos. 1
i- Jim McCune (Prefers Republican Party)
Marilyn Rasmussen (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Representative Pos. 2
i- Tom Campbell (Prefers Republican Party)
J.T. Wilcox (Prefers Republican Party)

Legislative District 25
State Representative Pos. 1
i- Bruce Dammeier (Prefers Republican Party)
John Thompson (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Representative Pos. 2
Hans Zeiger (Prefers Republican Party)
Steven Vermillion (Prefers Republican Party)
Bryan Shaner (Prefers Independent Party)
i- Dawn Morrell (Prefers Democratic Party)
Larry Johnson (Prefers Independent Party)
Ron Morehouse (Prefers Democratic Party)

Legislative District 26
State Senator
Marty McClendon (Prefers Republican Party)
i- Derek Kilmer (Prefers Democratic Party)
Kristine Danielson (States No Party Preference)
State Representative Pos. 1
Sumner Schoenike (Prefers Democratic Party)
i- Jan Angel (Prefers Republican Party)
State Representative Pos. 2
i- Larry Seaquist (Prefers Democratic Party)
Doug Richards (Prefers Republican Party)

Legislative District 27
State Representative Pos. 1
Ken Nichols (Prefers Independent Party)
Laurie Jinkins (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jake Fey (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jessica Smeall (Prefers Democratic Party)
Janis (Gall-Martin) Gbalah (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Representative Pos. 2
i-Jeannie Darneille (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jon Cronk (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jon M. Higley (Prefers Republican Party)

Legislative District 28
State Representative Pos. 1
Steve O’Ban (Prefers Republican Party)
i- Troy Kelley (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Representative Pos. 2
Paul Wagemann (Prefers Republican Party)
Brian Wurts (Prefers Republican Party)
i- Tami Green (Prefers Democratic Party)

Legislative District 29
State Senator
Steve Conway (Prefers Democratic Party)
Ken Paulson (Prefers Independent Party)
Terry Harder (Prefers Republican Party)
State Representative Pos. 1
Connie Ladenburg (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jonathan Johnson (Prefers Democratic Party)
Steven T. Cook (Prefers Republican Party)
Bruce Parks (Prefers Republican Party)
State Representative Pos. 2
i- Steve Kirby (Prefers Democratic Party)
Jesse Miller (Prefers Republican Party)

Legislative District 30
State Senator
i- Tracey Eide (Prefers Democratic Party)
Tony Moore (Prefers Republican Party)
State Representative Pos. 1
Shawn Sullivan (Prefers Republican Party)
Mark Miloscia (Prefers Democratic Party)
State Representative Pos. 2
Jerry Galland (Prefers Republican Party)
Katrina Asay (Prefers Republican Party)
Anthony Kalchik (Prefers Republican Party)
Carol Gregory (Prefers Democratic Party)
Ed Barney (Prefers Republican Party)

Legislative District 31
State Senator
Ron Weigelt (Prefers Democratic Party)
i- Pam Roach (Prefers Republican Party)
Raymond Bunk (Prefers Democratic Party)
Matt Richardson (Prefers Republican Party)
State Representative Pos. 1
Peggy Levesque (Prefers Democratic Party)
Shawn Bunney (Prefers Republican Party)
Cathy Dahlquist (Prefers Republican Party)
State Representative Pos. 2
Daniel Geske (Prefers Republican Party)
i-Christopher Hurst (Prefers Independent Dem. Party)
Patrick Reed (Prefers Republican Party)

Pierce County Prosecuting Attorney
i- Mark Lindquist (Prefers Democratic Party)
Bertha B. Fitzer (Prefers Independent Party)

i- Julie Anderson
Kent D. Keel

Pierce County Council
District 1
Dan Roach (Prefers Republican Party)
Pat McElligott (Prefers Democratic Party)
Nicola McDonald (Prefers Republican Party)

District 5
Rick Talbert (Prefers Democratic Party)
Audrey Chase (Prefers Democratic Party)
Erich Sachs (Prefers Democratic Party)

District 7
William V. (Bill) Sehmel (Prefers Republican Party)
Stan Flemming (Prefers Republican Party)
Todd Iverson (Prefers Democratic Party)
Betty Ringlee (Prefers Democratic Party)
Chuck West (Prefers Democratic Party)
Randy Boss (Prefers Republican Party)
John N. Picinich (States No Party Preference)
Larry Wingard (Prefers Republican Party)

Washington Supreme Court
Justice Position 1
Stan Rumbaugh
i- Jim Johnson
Justice Position 5
i- Barbara Madsen
Justice Position 6
Charlie Wiggins
i- Richard B. Sanders
Bryan Chushcoff

State Court of Appeals, Division 2, District 1
i-Judge Position 1
Marywave Van Deren
Judge Position 2
i-Lisa Worswick

Pierce Superior Court
Judge Position 9
i-Ed Murphy
Judge Position 16
i-Elizabeth P. Martin

Pierce District Court (contested only)
District Court No. 2
Claire Sussman
Karl L. Williams
Kevin A. McCann
Lance Hester

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0