Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Labor council snubs many incumbents

Post by Jordan Schrader / The News Tribune on May 15, 2010 at 7:31 pm | 5 Comments »
May 17, 2010 9:42 am

The state’s largest labor organization made its endorsements today, after debate among union members about whether to endorse Democrats across the board or only put money behind their champions.

In the end, the Washington State Labor Council didn’t go quite as far as the Federation of State Employees, which last month endorsed just 16 incumbent Democrats for re-election to the Legislature. But Federation members were out in force in their green shirts at the council’s endorsement conference today, and they successfully pushed for fewer endorsements.

The council did snub many incumbent Democrats in the Legislature. Plenty of them are facing potentially tough races and could use the money and “boots on the ground” that come with these endorsements.

in the South Sound, they didn’t endorse anyone in the swing-district races where Sen. Derek Kilmer, Sen. Claudia Kauffman, Sen. Tracey Eide, Rep. Larry Seaquist, Rep. Dawn Morrell are running for re-election.

Nor did they endorse Rep. Troy Kelley, although interestingly, they did do an anti-endorsement of his opponent, Steve O’Ban.

Those candidates still have a chance to regain unions’ love, with more endorsements coming in August at the council’s convention in Tacoma.

I see at least one Republican the council endorsed, Rep. Tom Campbell of Roy, who is facing a challenge from within his own party.

The full list:

Congressional Candidates:

*U.S. Senate — Patty Murray

*CD-01 — Jay Inslee

*CD-02 — Rick Larsen

*CD-03 — Craig Pridemore

*CD-04 — Jay Clough

*CD-06 — Norm Dicks

*CD-07 — Jim McDermott

*CD-08 — Suzan DelBene

*CD-09 — Adam Smith

Statewide Candidates:

*Supreme Court — Charlie Wiggins

*Supreme Court — Barbara Madsen

*State Court of Appeals Div. 2, Pos. 2 — Michael Spearman

Ballot Measures:

*OPPOSE Initiative 1053 — Tim Eyman’s 2/3 supermajority requirement on budget issues

*OPPOSE Initiative 1082 — Workers’ comp privatization

*SUPPORT Initiative 1098 — High-earners’ income tax

*SUPPORT Ref. 52 — Jobs Act of 2010 (Schools & Jobs)

*OPPOSE ANY initiative to privatize state liquor stores

*OPPOSE ANY initiative to repeal any part of the 2010 revenue package

Legislative Candidates:


House Pos. 1 — Derek Stanford

House Pos. 2 — Luis Moscoso


House 1 — Bruce Lachney

House 2 — Tom Campbell


House 1 — Andrew Billig

House 2 — Timm Ormsby


House 2 — Dean Willard


House 1 — Zack Hudgins

House 2 — Bob Hasegawa


House 2 — Monica Stonier


House 1 — Dennis Kampe


House 1 — Corinne Tobeck


House 1 — Mary Helen Roberts

House 2 — Marko Liias


House 1 — Chris Reykdal

House 2 — Sam Hunt


House 1 — Sherry Appleton


House 1 — Kevin Van De Wege


House 1 — John Thompson


House 1 — Sumner Schoenike


House 1 — OPPOSE Steve O’Ban

House 2 — Tami Green


House 1 — Connie Ladenburg

Senate — Steve Conway


House 1 — Mark Miloscia

House 2 — Carol Gregory


House 1 — Peggy Levesque


House 1 — Cindy Ryu

Senate — Maralyn Chase


House 2 — Dave Upthegrove

Senate — Karen Keiser


House 2 — Marcee Stone and Joe Fitzgibbon (dual endorsement)

Senate — Sharon Nelson


House 2 — Mary Lou Dickerson

Senate — Jeanne Kohl-Welles


House 1 — John McCoy

House 2 — Mike Sells


House 1 — Al Jensen

Senate — Patrick Jerns


House 1 — Hans Dunshee

Senate — Lillian Kaufer


House 1 — Roger Goodman


House 1 — Scott White

House 2 — Phyllis Kenney


House 1 — Geoff Simpson

House 2 — Pat Sullivan


House 2 — Jim Moeller

The News Tribune now uses Facebook commenting on selected blogs. See editor's column for more details. Commenters are expected to abide by terms of service for Facebook as well as commenting rules for thenewstribune.com. Report violators to webmaster@thenewstribune.com.