Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Bush re-elected chair of Pierce County Council

Post by David Wickert on Jan. 12, 2010 at 5:10 pm with 3 Comments »
January 12, 2010 5:12 pm

The Pierce County Council unanimously re-elected Roger Bush chairman this afternoon.

Bush, R-Graham, will serve a second one-year term as chairman, as expected. The council also re-elected Councilman Terry Lee, R-Gig Harbor, as vice chairman and Councilman Dick Muri, R-Steilacoom, as executive pro tem (the council member who performs some of the executive’s duties in the event of an absence or temporary disability).

Here’s the complete press release from the council:

Jan. 12, 2010

Pierce County Councilmembers re-elected Roger Bush as their chairman and finalized their committees for 2010 at the council’s regular meeting this afternoon.

In addition to Bush (District 3), councilmembers again chose Terry Lee (District 7) as vice chair and Dick Muri (District 6) as executive pro tem. The chair presides at all regular council meetings, the vice chair presides in the absence of the chair, and the executive pro tem is a councilmember selected to perform some of the County Executive’s duties in the event of the executive’s absence or temporary disability.

Councilmembers also reorganized five standing and select committees: Rules and Operations, Public Safety and Human Services, Community Development, Economic and Infrastructure Development, and Emergency Preparedness. The committees and their members are:

· Rules and Operations Standing Committee (meets Mondays at 10 a.m.) – Bush (chair), Lee, Muri, Tim Farrell (District 4, alternate)

· Public Safety and Human Services Standing Committee (meets second Mondays at 1:30 p.m.) – Barbara Gelman (District 5, chair), Farrell, Lee, Joyce McDonald (District 2), Muri

· Community Development Standing Committee (meets first and third Mondays at 1:30 p.m.) – Lee (chair), Shawn Bunney (District 1), Bush, Farrell, Gelman

· Economic and Infrastructure Development Standing Committee (meets second and fourth Tuesdays at 9:30 a.m.) – Bunney (chair), McDonald, Bush, Lee, Muri

· Emergency Preparedness Select Committee (meets fourth Mondays at 1:30 p.m.) – Bush (chair), Muri, McDonald, Susan Long (council staff), Anna Graham (council staff)

For complete descriptions and schedules of the council’s committees, visit www.piercecountywa.gov/council <http://www.piercecountywa.gov/council> . The full council meets Tuesdays at 3 p.m.

All meetings are in the Council Chambers on the 10th floor of the County-City Building (930 Tacoma Ave. S., Rm. 1045) in Tacoma. They are broadcast live and replayed each week on Pierce County TV (channel 22) and streamed live and archived on the channel’s Web site, www.piercecountytv.org. <http://www.piercecountytv.org.%0d%0b%0d>

CONTACT: Brad Chatfield, Council Communications Manager, 253-798-6626

Leave a comment Comments → 3
  1. Change we can believe in !

    What a joke !

  2. jiminycricket says:

    Want to attend one of their meetings? Don’t be late, even by a minute, otherwise you’ll be locked out, and unable to watch this “open and transparent” governmental body in action.

  3. ldozy1234 says:

    Wow Jiminey-
    I’ve attended multiple Council Meetings a bit late and never found myself locked out. Could you be specific on when that happened to you?

We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0