Political Buzz

Talking WA politics.

NOTICE: Political Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Political Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Tacoma City Council appointments: Finalists announced today

Post by Lewis Kamb / The News Tribune on Jan. 6, 2010 at 11:12 am with 2 Comments »
January 6, 2010 3:01 pm

UPDATE, 3 p.m.: The finalists are: Chris Thompson, Phil Cowan, Bob Sheehan, Ryan Mello, Koree Baker, Rick Talbert, Patricia Lecy-Davis and David Boe.


We should know by this afternoon who the finalists are from among the dozens of applicants seeking appointment to either of two vacant seats on the Tacoma City Council.

City of TacomaThe seven current members of the council are expected to meet for an executive session at noon today to winnow down a field of 40+ candidates (of the 44 original applicants, a few have since dropped out or didn’t attend a meeting to publicly present their qualifications).

Once today’s closed meeting concludes, the council is expected to publicly announce names of the chosen finalists.

Finalists are expected to be publicly interviewed at the next regular meeting of the Tacoma City Council on Jan. 12. The council then expects to appoint two new members on Jan. 14. If more time is needed to decide either or both selections, the appointments will be made on Jan. 19, according to a recently released schedule.

The two open seats on the nine-member panel were created when council members Marilyn Strickland and Julie Anderson vacated their at-large seats after winning election to other offices. Strickland won the mayor’s job and remains on the council, while Anderson won the Pierce County auditor’s job and left the city council in November.

Each vacant council seat has about two years remaining of unexpired four-year terms.

Leave a comment Comments → 2
  1. jiminycricket says:

    Rick Talbert had his chance as a former councilman and quite frankly, fell far short on his promises. Please, appoint someone capable of making a difference, not the same old status quo!

  2. How can the final eight NOT include the names of Harold Moss and Bil Moss? What ARE you people thinking? ARE you people thinking??
    And what’s with this closed door nonsense?

We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0