Mariners Insider

World Series over, free agency begins

Post by Bob Dutton / The News Tribune on Oct. 30, 2014 at 6:28 am with 1 Comment »
October 30, 2014 10:01 am

Let the baseball off-season begin.

Some 121 players became free agents Wednesday night when San Francisco third baseman Pablo Sandoval clutched a foul pop by Kansas City’s Salvy Perez for the final out in a 3-2 victory in the seventh game of the World Series.

That list, released Thursday by the players association, includes Sandoval, who played a major role in helping the Giants win their third title in five years.

Seven Mariners became free agents: pitchers Joe Beimel and Chris Young, catcher Humberto Quintero, first baseman/designated hitter Kendrys Morales, and outfielders Endy Chavez, Chris Denorfia and Franklin Gutierrez.

An eighth Mariner, outfielder/first baseman Corey Hart, became a free agent earlier this month when he rejected an outright assignment after clearing waivers.

Gutierrez spent the past season on the restricted list because of health issues.

Players are no longer required to file for free agency. Those who are eligible become free agents when the Series concludes.

There are another 32 players who could become free agents pending the resolution of contract options, which must be decided by Saturday — i.e., within three days of the Series concluding.

The Mariners have no players with unresolved contract options.

Clubs hold exclusive negotiating rights with their former players for five days — through Nov. 3. Clubs also must decide whether to extend qualifying offers of $15.3 million within that five-day window.

Those qualifying offers permit a club to receive an additional draft choice next June as compensation if that player rejects the offer and signs elsewhere. Players have one week to accept or reject the offer.

At 12:01 a.m. Eastern time Tuesday, free agents are permitted to negotiate and sign with other clubs.

Here is the list of free agents as supplied by the players association.



Baltimore (7) — Alexi Casilla, inf; Nelson Cruz, of; Kelly Johnson, 2b; Andrew Miller, lhp; Johan Santana, lhp; Joe Saunders, lhp; Delmon Young, of.

Boston (4) — Burke Badenhop, rhp; Ryan Dempster, rhp; David Ross, c; Koji Uehara, rhp.

Cleveland (1) — Jason Giambi, 1b.

Chicago (2) — Paul Konerko, 1b; Matt Lindstom, rhp.

Detroit (7) — Joba Chamberlain, rhp; Phil Coke, lhp; Joel Hanrahan, rhp; Torii Hunter, of; Jim Johnson, rhp; Victor Martinez, c; Max Scherzer, rhp.

Houston (3) — Matt Albers, rhp; Jesse Crain, rhp; Jose Veras, rhp.

Kansas City (7) — Nori Aoki, of; Scott Downs, lhp; Jason Frasor, rhp; Luke Hochevar, rhp; Raul Ibanez, of; James Shields, rhp; Josh Willingham, of.

Los Angeles (3) — Jason Grilli, rhp; John McDonald, ss; Joe Thatcher, lhp.

Minnesota (1) — Jared Burton, rhp.

New York (10) — Chris Capuano, lhp; Stephen Drew, ss; Chase Headley, 3b; Rich Hill, lhp; Derek Jeter, ss; Hiroki Kuroda, rhp; Brandon McCarthy, rhp; David Robertson, rhp; Ichiro Suzuki, of; Chris Young, of.

Oakland (8) — Alberto Callaspo, 3b; Jonny Gomes, of; Luke Gregerson, rhp; Jason Hammel, rhp; Jon Lester, lhp; Jed Lowrie, ss; Hiroyuki Nakajima, ss; Geovany Soto, c.

Seattle (7) — Joe Beimel, lhp; Endy Chavez, of; Chris Denorfia, of; Franklin Gutierrez, of; Kendrys Morales, dh; Humberto Quintero, c; Chris Young, rhp.

Tampa Bay (0)

Texas (4) — Scott Baker, rhp; Neal Cotts, lhp; Colby Lewis, rhp; Alex Rios, of.

Toronto (4) — Melky Cabrera, of; Casey Janssen, rhp; Munenori Kawasaki, inf; Colby Rasmus, of.



Atlanta (6) — Emilio Bonifacio, 2b; Ryan Doumit, c; Gavin Floyd, rhp; Aaron Harang, rhp; Gerald Laird, c; Ervin Santana, rhp.

Chicago (1) — Carlos Villanueva, rhp.

Cincinnati (3) — Jack Hannahan, 3b; Ryan Ludwick, of; Ramon Santiago, ss.

Colorado (4) — Matt Belisle, rhp; Michael Cuddyer, of; Nick Masset, rhp; Franklin Morales, lhp.

Los Angeles (7) — Josh Beckett, rhp; Kevin Correia, rhp; Roberto Hernandez, rhp; Paul Maholm, lhp; Chris Perez, rhp; Hanley Ramirez, ss; Jamey Wright, rhp.

Miami (4) — Rafael Furcal, ss; Kevin Gregg, rhp; Reed Johnson, of; Brad Penny, rhp.

Milwaukee (5) — Zach Duke, lhp; Tom Gorzelanny, lhp; Lyle Overbay, 1b; Mark Reynolds, 1b; Francisco Rodriguez, rhp.

New York (2) — Bobby Abreu, of; Daisuke Matsuzaka, rhp.

Philadelphia (3) — Mike Adams, rhp; Kyle Kendrick, rhp; Wil Nieves, c.

Pittsburgh (4) — Clint Barmes, ss; Francisco Liriano, lhp; Russell Martin, c; Edinson Volquez, rhp.

St. Louis (5) — Mark Ellis, 2b; Justin Masterson, rhp; Jason Motte, rhp; Pat Neshek, rhp; A.J. Pierzynski, c.

San Diego (1) — Tim Stauffer, rhp.

San Francisco (5) — Michael Morse, of; Jake Peavy, rhp; Sergio Romo, rhp; Pablo Sandoval, 3b; Ryan Vogelsong, rhp.

Washington (3) — Asdrubal Cabrera, ss; Scott Hairston, of; Nate Schierholtz, of.

Leave a comment Comments → 1
  1. FlatheadHawk says:

    Victor Martinez would be a great addition.

We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0