Mariners Insider

Iwakuma a finalist for AL Cy Young Award

Post by Kenny Via / The News Tribune on Nov. 5, 2013 at 5:05 pm with 1 Comment »
November 5, 2013 5:08 pm
Seattle Mariners starting pitcher Hisashi Iwakuma is one of three finalists for the AL Cy Young award.
Seattle Mariners starting pitcher Hisashi Iwakuma is one of three finalists for the AL Cy Young award.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America revealed finalists for its regular season awards Tuesday, and Seattle Mariners pitcher Hisashi Iwakuma was among the final three for the American League Cy Young Award.

Detroit’s 21-game winner Max Scherzer is the favorite to win the award. Scherzer and Rangers pitcher Yu Darvish are the other two finalists.

Randy Johnson (1995) and Felix Hernandez (2010) are the only Mariners pitchers to ever win the award. No other Mariners players was listed among the BBWAA finalists.

Tigers third baseman and reigning AL MVP Miguel Cabrera headlines the list of finalists for this year’s award. Baltimore Orioles first baseman Chris Davis and Angels center fielder Mike Trout, the 2012 runner-up, round out the nominees.

Those being considered for the NL MVP are Pittsburgh center fielder Andrew McCutchen, St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina and Arizona first baseman Paul Goldschmidt.

Los Angeles ace Clayton Kershaw appears to be the favorite to win his second NL Cy Young Award in three years after leading the majors with a 1.83 earned run average. Miami’s Jose Fernandez and St. Louis’ Adam Wainwright are also in the hunt for the top pitching honor in the NL.

Tampa Bay outfielder Wil Myers and pitcher Chris Archer as well as Tigers shortstop Jose Iglesias make up the finalists for the AL Rookie of the Year Award, while Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig and St. Louis hurler Shelby Miller join Fernandez as the NL rookie hopefuls.

John Farrell of the World Series champion Boston Red Sox, Cleveland’s Terry Francona and Oakland’s Bob Melvin were named the nominees for the AL Manager of the Year Award. Melvin, the manager of the Mariners in 2003 and 2004, was last year’s recipient.

Pittsburgh’s Clint Hurdle, the Dodgers’ Don Mattingly and Atlanta’s Fredi Gonzalez comprise the field for the best NL manager.

The winners will be announced next week.

Leave a comment Comments → 1
  1. Quinault says:

    What an honor. Well deserved.

We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0