Letters to the Editor

Your views in 250 words or less

Tag: PGA

Aug.
19th

GOLF: McGrath doesn’t get it

Re: “Calling a foul on unseen official” (John McGrath column, 8-18).

McGrath’s baseball writing is exemplary, but his take on the Rules of Golf is in la-la land.

When Dustin Johnson was called for grounding his club in a bunker at the PGA, the officials proceeded exactly as required. As an experienced rules official from the USGA level down to the local junior level, I will tell you that the cardinal rule in a stroke play competition is “protecting the field,” which means that no player will be given an advantage and that all rules infractions must be called.

Read more »