Learning Curve

NOTICE: Learning Curve has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved Learning Curve.
Visit the new section.

Pick a winner for Pierce County Library card design

Post by Debbie Cafazzo / The News Tribune on June 17, 2013 at 7:50 pm with No Comments »
June 17, 2013 7:52 pm

A public vote will decide the design for the next Pierce County Library System’s library cards, designed by local students. Pierce County residents may choose the winners by voting online at the Library’s website, www.piercecountylibrary.org now through July 6.

Nearly 1,000 students throughout Pierce County submitted designs in a contest. Their art included submissions using pencil, pen, paint, camera and computer.

“Every entry shined with creativity and a unique view of the student’s personal library story or perspective,” said Neel Parikh, library executive director. “Now it is up to you to decide the design for our next library cards.”

A previous year's winner
A previous year’s winner

The winning artists’ cards will be reproduced into 10,000 cards and available for free this fall during the library’s card drive.

Professional artists reviewed entries and selected 20 finalists.

Grades K-6: Trinity Brown, Puyallup, Naches Trail Elementary School; Megan Cannon, Puyallup, Fruitland Elementary School; Hunter Erwin, Gig Harbor, Harbor Heights Elementary School; Claire Hughes, Gig Harbor, Harbor Heights Elementary School; Amanda LaVoie, Spanaway, Pioneer Valley Elementary School; Grayson Loupas, University Place, University Place Primary School; Josiah McGinnis, University Place, University Place Primary School; Ainsley Peterson, Gig Harbor, Harbor Heights Elementary School; Nolan Robison, Puyallup, Brouillet Elementary School; and Madison Schumacher, Tacoma, Brookdale Elementary School.

Grades 7-12: Kourtney Baxter, Bonney Lake, White River High School; Karly Dammel, Puyallup, Home School; Katie Howard, Lakewood, Steilacoom High School; Kelly Lavelle, Puyallup, Rogers High School; Janae Phelps, Tacoma, Cascade Christian Junior High School; Nashesha Rowberg, Puyallup, Stahl Junior High School; Isabel Shin, Puyallup, Mount Rainier Lutheran High School; Kazia Smith, Buckley, White River High School; Spencer and Gabriella Smith, Graham, Home School; and Paige Wilson, Buckley, White River High School.

The library will announce two winning designs—one from each grade category— later this summer.



Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0