The Biz Buzz

Get the most up-to-date news, insights and analysis of Tacoma, Pierce County and South Puget Sound business.

NOTICE: The Biz Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Biz Buzz.
Visit the new section.

UWT Milgard School announces winners of 2013 Business Leadership Awards

Post by C.R. Roberts / The News Tribune on Feb. 11, 2013 at 1:38 pm |
February 11, 2013 1:38 pm

The University of Washington Tacoma Milgard School of Business has announced the winners of its 12th annual Business Leadership Awards.

Along with the annual recognitions, the school has added a new category for 2013 – the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Some years, when appropriate, the school has offered a Lifetime Achievement Award. Such is the case this year.

• Business Leader of the Year: Richard Brandsma, president and CEO of Sound Credit Union.
• Small Business Leader of the Year: Janine Terrano, president and CEO of Topia Technology.
• Nonprofit Business Leader of the Year: Joseph Wilczek, CEO of Franciscan Health System.
• Distinguished Alumnus Award: Michael Slevin III (UWT MBA 2004), director of the City of Tacoma environmental services department.
• Lifetime Achievement Award: Brian Sonntag, recently retired Washington State Auditor.

The awards will be presented at a dinner on April 30 at the Greater Tacoma Convention & Trade Center. For more information or to register for the event, visit

The News Tribune now uses Facebook commenting on selected blogs. See editor's column for more details. Commenters are expected to abide by terms of service for Facebook as well as commenting rules for Report violators to