The Biz Buzz

Get the most up-to-date news, insights and analysis of Tacoma, Pierce County and South Puget Sound business.

NOTICE: The Biz Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Biz Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Meyer named Port of Tacoma president

Post by John Gillie / The News Tribune on Jan. 7, 2013 at 11:21 am |
January 7, 2013 11:25 am

Port of Tacoma Commissioner Don Meyer has been named president of the five-member Port of Tacoma Commission for 2013.

Meyer is a former deputy director of the port and a former executive director of the Foss Waterway Development Authority. He was elected to the commission in 2009. He succeeds Commissioner Dick Marzano as the port commission’s top officer.

Don Meyer Port of Tacoma commissioner
Don Meyer, Port of Tacoma Commission president

Port of Tacoma commissioners rotate through the commission offices yearly.

Also elected last week were Clare Petrich, vice-president; Don Johnson, secretary; Connie Bacon, first assistant secretary and Marzano, second assistant secretary.

Born and raised on a farm in South Dakota, he has an undergraduate degree in business from Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of South Dakota.

He currently serves on the Pierce College board of trustees, the Pacific Lutheran University School of Business Executive Advisory Board, the Tacoma Waterfront Association, Tacoma-Pierce County Economic Development Board, the board of the LeMay Car Museum and the Joint Municipal Action Committee. He also recently served on the Governor’s Connecting Washington Task Force.

The News Tribune now uses Facebook commenting on selected blogs. See editor's column for more details. Commenters are expected to abide by terms of service for Facebook as well as commenting rules for Report violators to