The Biz Buzz

Get the most up-to-date news, insights and analysis of Tacoma, Pierce County and South Puget Sound business.

NOTICE: The Biz Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Biz Buzz.
Visit the new section.

State opens nominations for corporate community involvement award

Post by C.R. Roberts / The News Tribune on July 16, 2012 at 3:03 pm with No Comments »
July 16, 2012 3:44 pm

Where Korsmo Construction of Tacoma and Sterling Bank of Spokane went in 2011, you can help determine who gains the plaudits in 2012.

Secretary of State Sam Reed has announced that his office is now accepting nominations for the 2012 Corporations for Communities Award.

The deadline for nomination August 31.

Reed established program in 2009 as a way to recognize Washington businesses that demonstrate a commitment to giving in order to improve local or regional social and environmental conditions. The award program is run by the Corporations and Charities Division, which is part of the Office of Secretary of State.

“We are fortunate to have many companies in our state that make it a priority to give back to their community. This is a chance for the public to help some of them receive well-earned recognition,” Reed said in a release Monday.

“The purpose of this award is for our office to honor corporations that are going the extra mile to help their community. Encouraging businesses that are giving something back is important, especially given the difficulties that Washingtonians are facing every day in this economy.”

One large and one small corporation will be chosen from among the public nominations. Reed’s picks will receive a National Association of Secretaries of State Medallion, the highest civics honor that the state awards.

Anyone is able to nominate businesses for the honor. Any for-profit corporation, Limited Liability Corporation (LLC), or Limited Partnership is eligible. Nominees need to be registered with the Office of the Secretary of State and must be in compliance with state and federal laws.

Nomination forms can be found on the Secretary of State’s website at .

Winners for the 2012 Awards cycle will be announced in September.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0