The Biz Buzz

Get the most up-to-date news, insights and analysis of Tacoma, Pierce County and South Puget Sound business.

NOTICE: The Biz Buzz has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved The Biz Buzz.
Visit the new section.

Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber announces annual New Tacoma Awards

Post by Kathleen Cooper / The News Tribune on July 13, 2012 at 2:03 pm with No Comments »
July 16, 2012 10:19 am

The New Tacoma Awards were announced Friday at a luncheon held by the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber.

Five businesses, organizations or people were recognized for their contributions to downtown Tacoma. The awards this year were sponsored by Absher Construction Company.

The 2012 recipients are:

  • The Swiss received the Schoenfeld Award that recognizes exemplary performance and pizzazz as a retailer.
  • LeMay – America’s Car Museum received the Ghilarducci Award that recognizes successful new development, renovation or beautification.
  • First Night Tacoma-Pierce County received the Union Station Award that recognizes leading organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization.
  • Tim Waer, Tacoma South Sound Sports, received the Popham Award that recognizes the individual who has done the most to build community spirit.
  • Wright Park Sprayground & Playground received the second Public Places Award that recognizes the best activation of a public park, open space or area within the public right-of-way

For the second year, the awards are glass sculptures made by Hilltop Artists.


Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0