When it comes to the minimum wage for workers in Washington, we are no longer No. 1.
The minimum wage for all workers in the state – except those 14 and 15 years old – will increase by 37 cents to $9.04 beginning Jan. 1. That is the highest state wage in the country.
But in San Francisco, workers will begin the year earning $10.24, up from $9.92. The makes the City by the Bay the first place in the nation where workers will earn a minimum double-digit hourly wage.
In Oregon, workers will earn a minimum of $8.80.
The Washington, the Department of Labor & Industries makes an annual adjustment to the state’s minimum wage as required by Initiative 688, which voters approved in 1998.
As in years past, employers are required to post the “Your Rights as a Worker” poster, which provides general information concerning the minimum wage and other topics.
Free copies of the workplace poster are available from any L&I office, or by calling 866-219-7321, or by downloading from lni.wa.gov.