GO Arts

Everything new on the walls, stage, screen and streets of Tacoma and South Puget Sound.

NOTICE: GO Arts has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved GO Arts.
Visit the new section.

Oliver Doriss is Foundation of Art Award winner

Post by Craig Sailor / The News Tribune on June 4, 2012 at 12:27 pm with No Comments »
June 4, 2012 3:53 pm

Oliver Doriss

Tacoma artist and gallery owner Oliver Doriss has been named the recipient of the Foundation of Art Award it was announced today.

The award is presented by the Greater Tacoma Community Foundation. Doriss was selected by a committee of art professionals to win the fifth annual award.

The award is designed to recognize the talent and commitment of artists in Pierce County. Doriss will receive $7,500 and create a commissioned art piece for the Community Foundation. It will be unveiled in December at an art show featuring the work of Foundation of Art Award nominees from the past five years.

More from the announcement:

An artist from a young age, Doriss transitioned from ceramics to working in glass at the age of sixteen, and has been an active member of the contemporary glass movement for over two decades. His artwork ranges from cast glass sculptural forms to public art installation. In 2007, Doriss founded the Fulcrum Gallery, a contemporary art venue in Tacoma’s Hilltop neighborhood, which he owns and operates.

“Oliver is deeply committed to art in Tacoma, both as an artist and a gallerist,” said Jeremy Mangan, former Foundation of Art Award winner and the Foundation of Art Committee member who nominated Doriss for the Award. “His own glass work is as unique and risky as it is beautiful, and Fulcrum Gallery is a vital and dynamic venue where art and community meet in the best way.”

Doriss was one of 16 talented Pierce County artists nominated for the award by a committee of local art professionals. Other nominees included R.R. Anderson, Gabriel Brown, Kyle Dillehay, Spencer Ebbinga, Travis Galindo, Susan Russell Hall, Matt Johnson, Chris Jordan, Maria Jost, Chuck Knigge, Meghan Mitchell, Peter Serko, Kenji Stoll, Sharon Styer and Judy Wagner.

“I was flattered just to be nominated,” said Doriss. “I couldn’t have done a better job at identifying the creative community than in the artists that were nominated. To be selected as the winner and
have that recognition is very validating.”

An online gallery is available at www.gtcf.org showcasing images of each nominee’s artwork, as well as interviews with the artists.

The previous four Foundation of Art winners include Chris Sharp in 2008, Jeremy Mangan in 2009, Lisa Kinoshita in 2010 and Jessica Spring in 2011.

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0