GO Arts

Everything new on the walls, stage, screen and streets of Tacoma and South Puget Sound.

NOTICE: GO Arts has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved GO Arts.
Visit the new section.

Pianist Regina Yeh to break long concert drought with concerto appearance with Tacoma Symphony

Post by Rosemary Ponnekanti / The News Tribune on Feb. 22, 2012 at 5:34 am with No Comments »
February 20, 2012 10:36 pm
Pianist Regina Yeh. Photo: Carey Denniston.

Seattle pianist and former Pacific Lutheran University faculty member Regina Yeh will perform Chopin’s Piano Concerto no. 2 this Sunday with the Tacoma Symphony at the Rialto Theater – her first concerto appearance with the symphony and her first public performance in several months.

Yeh, a young Taiwanese-born American prize-winning pianist who has been on the faculty of both the University of Washington and PLU and is a champion of new and East-West collaborative music, last performed in Tacoma at a Second City Chamber Series concert in November 2010. Noted for her “fiery musicality,” Yeh teaches privately in Seattle and gives masterclasses around the region.

This Sunday she’ll be playing Chopin’s virtuosic Piano Concerto no. 2 with the Tacoma Symphony. Other pieces on the program, chosen for the intimate acoustics of the Rialto Theater, are Mendelssohn’s joyful Symphony no. 4 (the “Italian”), Samuel Barber’s famously sorrowful Adagio for strings and “Ash” by American composer Michael Torke. Though not one of Torke’s more recent pieces (it was written in 1989) it’s a good example of his neo-Baroque compositional style, a break from the atonal modernism of the time.

2:30 p.m. Feb. 26. $12-$62. Rialto Theater, 310 S. 9th St., Tacoma. 253-591-5894, www.tacomasymphony.org


Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0