GO Arts

Everything new on the walls, stage, screen and streets of Tacoma and South Puget Sound.

NOTICE: GO Arts has moved.

With the launch of our new website, we've moved GO Arts.
Visit the new section.

Seventeen local artists get TAIP grants

Post by Rosemary Ponnekanti / The News Tribune on Feb. 24, 2009 at 2:17 pm with No Comments »
February 24, 2009 2:17 pm

Poet William Kupinse. Photo courtesy William Kupinse.

The City of Tacoma Arts Commission has just announced the 17 recipients of the 2009-2010 Tacoma Artists Initiative Program, one of three funding programs managed by the Commission. Started in 1999, the TAIP supports artists in creating new work and presenting it free to the public. The $45,000 in grant money was split this round between 17 artists in all disciplines, with each recipient receiving between $2,000-$3,500.

"These awards provide artists the resources to explore and develop their artistry more fully. It is our intention that this investment in Tacoma ‘s working artists will contribute to the on-going dialog about our city, our community and art itself," said Robin Echtle, chair of the Tacoma Arts Commission.

Grant recipients were cartoonist R.R. Anderson, playwright C. Rosalind Bell, photographer Victoria Bjorklund, painter Becky Frehse, choreographer Robin Jaecklein, painter Matthew Johnson, mixed media artist Maria Jost, painter Fumiko Kimura, poet William Kupinse, photographer Steven McElrath, printmaker Chandler O’Leary, metalsmith Amy Reeves, ceramicist Claudia Riedener, poet Tammy Robacker, sculptor Mauricio Robalino, playwright Nicholas Stokes and Native American artist Chholing Taha.

Proposed grant projects include a poetry anthology, a new play, a dance piece, public exhibits of two-and three-dimensional visual art and a tile mural at the South Tacoma Public Library.

For more information on the TAIP grants and the Arts Commission, visit www.tacomaculture.org

Leave a comment Comments
We welcome comments. Please keep them civil, short and to the point. ALL CAPS, spam, obscene, profane, abusive and off topic comments will be deleted. Repeat offenders will be blocked. Thanks for taking part and abiding by these simple rules.

JavaScript is required to post comments.

Follow the comments on this post with RSS 2.0